:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Thu Oct 21, 2021 5:20 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Whats wrong with this building ?
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
adamstrange
AA Infantry


Joined: 07 Mar 2013

PostPosted: Sun Jun 27, 2021 9:19 pm    Post subject:  Whats wrong with this building ? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I put all the files in my expandmd50.mix as usual but when I open the editor the building looks like this.

RULESMD
Code:
[CGBUSAN01]
Name=South Korea Busan1
UIName=Name:South Korea Busan1
TechLevel=-1
Strength=1500
Insignificant=yes
Nominal=yes
;RadarInvisible=yes
Points=5
Armor=wood
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
;DestroyAnim=CARUS01D
DebrisAnims=DBRI-WM1,DBRI-WM2,DBRI-WM3,DBRI-WM4,DBRI-WM5,DBRI-WM6
MaxDebris=15
MinDebris=5
;Selectable=no
;IsBase=no
BaseNormal=no ;psst....IsBase isn't a Rules flag
Sight=8 ; UC base values
ClickRepairable=no
CanBeOccupied=yes
MaxNumberOccupants=20
CanOccupyFire=yes
LeaveRubble=true
DieSound=MonumentCrumble


ARTMD
Code:
[CBBUSAN01]
Foundation=3x3
Height=11
NewTheater=yes
DemandLoad=true
MuzzleFlash0=-19,-9
MuzzleFlash1=75,11
MuzzleFlash2=-38,45
MuzzleFlash3=-19,-43
MuzzleFlash4=-65,7
MuzzleFlash5=36,45
MuzzleFlash6=46,-20
MuzzleFlash7=-39,-55
MuzzleFlash8=38,-91
MuzzleFlash9=-18,-82
DamageFireOffset0=-32,-58
DamageFireOffset1=32,-11
CanHideThings=true
CanBeHidden=false
OccupyHeight=7
RemoveOccupy1=-4,-5
RemoveOccupy2=-5,-5
Palette=busan



INSIDE THE expandmd50.mix.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  4.27 KB
 Viewed:  333 Time(s)

INSIDE THE expandmd50.mix.png



2021-06-27_170726.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  98.06 KB
 Viewed:  335 Time(s)

2021-06-27_170726.png



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Virgil
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 22 Jul 2018

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2021 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

FA2 does not accept custom palettes iirc, so you get this thing.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adamstrange
AA Infantry


Joined: 07 Mar 2013

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2021 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

So if it doesn't except them, then why did this modder include them in the download, and how do you explain how he got a bunch of his buildings in the game ?

https://ppmforums.com/topic-46612/marvel-future-fight-busan-department-store/?highlight=busan

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2021 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Those palettes are intended to be used for the game; that's why they were included.

No-one, not even you, should care about how bad something looks in the map editor as long as it looks fine in-game.

In this case the building needs special palettes; the game will load them just fine with the code above, if you're using Ares. Not using Ares but still using Palette= flag will result in crash because some genius at WW thought that's what should happen when Palette is used more than once.

Map editor will not read new/different palettes.
Not saying that it can't, there's a way to make it read other palettes, but that way introduces far too many risks and breaks the three rules all modders of all games should adhere to:

* Do not, ever, in the history of ever, mess with the original files; stick to overriding those original files but never actually replace or delete them, even if you're not using them.
* In the event you're not using something, don't cut its codes or assets out; leave them there, make them unavailable for use for regular players, but not map makers/scripters.
* Do not completely re-work things like units or buildings while keeping the same name or game ID. Make a new unit/building/etc. instead if your intention is complete rework, leaving the original intact.

_________________
One and only developer of the Command & Conquer Dune "C&C D" mod.
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue

Last edited by TAK02 on Mon Jun 28, 2021 3:38 pm; edited 4 times in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Twitter Channel URL Skype Account
Musketmarine
Medic


Joined: 14 Feb 2020
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2021 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The editor can't even be relied on to show most voxels properly, so why would you expect a new building with its own graphics to show properly?

If the building is working properly ingame, then it's working properly. FA2's rendering engine needs to be taken out back and shot. It's just not on parity with the WW2.5D engine's actual rendering and it's really not your fault for the building using the wrong palette in the editor.

In essence, you should disregard this editor issue and keep moving forward as if nobody was going to address this FA2 rendering issue because let's face it: Nobody is going to waste hours of their time recoding this thing.
_________________
https://www.moddb.com/mods/cerebral-cascade

I'm also a voice actor!
https://ko-fi.com/musket

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Skype Account
adamstrange
AA Infantry


Joined: 07 Mar 2013

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2021 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

In game it looks just like the messed up image.
Oh I'm not using ares so i will install that.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2021 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

adamstrange wrote:
In game it looks just like the messed up image.
That's odd; according to Ares docs your game should've crashed, since you're using the Palette= flag and it's only allowed to be used once (it's already used once by the Statue of Liberty CANEWY05 IIRC) for some reason...
Is it possible you've given it a value the game doesn't consider valid?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Twitter Channel URL Skype Account
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I use custom pallets for nearly everything in my mod & this is what FA2 looks like...


FA2_fubar.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  1.42 MB
 Viewed:  167 Time(s)

FA2_fubar.jpg



_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
wardeathfun
Commander


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Excuse me, sir, would you like a shake with that seizure?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
adamstrange
AA Infantry


Joined: 07 Mar 2013

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2021 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
Excuse me, sir, would you like a shake with that seizure?
Laughing  Surprised
Are those buildings from the Sudden Strike Series ?

TAK02 my game doesn't have ares installed.
The download came with the artmd code but not with the rulesmd code, so I took it from a building that had the same foundation.

I don't understand why many modder upload their creations without the proper codes when it's just a simple copy and paste task.

Makes a lot of sense if you want everyone to use your stuff without having to contact you.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Virgil
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 22 Jul 2018

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2021 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

adamstrange wrote:

I don't understand why many modder upload their creations without the proper codes when it's just a simple copy and paste task.

Makes a lot of sense if you want everyone to use your stuff without having to contact you.

Because it is a simple copy and paste task, and if you are really doing a mod and want to use them, you won't mind to c&p once more.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
General


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2021 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Virgil wrote:
adamstrange wrote:
I don't understand why many modder upload their creations without the proper codes when it's just a simple copy and paste task.

Makes a lot of sense if you want everyone to use your stuff without having to contact you.

Because it is a simple copy and paste task, and if you are really doing a mod and want to use them, you won't mind to c&p once more.

Excuse me my good sir, but I must disagree.
Copy-pasting code, or copying then modifying art code, is the most boring and dull task.

But it must be done.

What must be done will be done...
_________________
One and only developer of the Command & Conquer Dune "C&C D" mod.
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Twitter Channel URL Skype Account
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1633s ][ Queries: 16 (0.0114s) ][ Debug on ]