:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Tue May 18, 2021 1:33 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Tutorials Vault
Fog of War like in TS
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
ComradeSpike
Vehicle Driver


Joined: 15 Jun 2003

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 2:37 am    Post subject:  Fog of War like in TS Reply with quote

Recently I was informed that in Deezire's rules guide it says that Fog Of War logic is disabled. That is not the case at all, It is quite simple to put Fog Of War back into the game.

;Here's the entries you need to modify in the Rules(md) file:
[General]
FogOfWar=yes;no             ; Is fog of war enabled?
BlendedFog=yes          ; should we blend the fog (as opposed to dither it)

[AudioVisual]
FogRate=.8;.01      ;How Fast should fogofwar grow?

[MultiplayerDialogSettings]
FogOfWar=yes;no

;Now modify any maps you want fog of War to be on
;In the Map File:
[SpecialFlags]
FogOfWar=yes;no

And that's it! you should adjust 'FogRate' based on how fast you want the fog to grow. enjoy!  Very Happy

Key Words: #Tutorials #Modding #RedAlert2 #YurisRevenge #Rules.INI 

_________________
Bang!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shadowfx78
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 01 Jul 2003

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 3:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

can that special flag thing be put in the rmg?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jah
Commander


Joined: 23 Nov 2002

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 5:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

YAY!
_________________
in 2009 to Florence. Viva Italia!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clazzy
Karma Police


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Location: Algae Colony On Mars

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For it to work, though, every map needs to be altered. That's a right pain to do. That's like saying new superweapons are possible, but it can really only be done with map editing.
_________________
Quote:
This is sexier than what this forum was supposed to tolerate. - Banshee

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Major_Gilbear
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 09 Aug 2003

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is another way to "fudge" FOW onto maps...

Have invisible, unselectable, indestructable Gap Generators that belong to a player not on the map/are neutral. The GG have a huge range, and you can set the speed of their shroud.

These work like the invisible lightposts ingame, and are placed in a similar fashion.


This also requires some editing of the maps, but far less.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kiith-Sa
Rocket Cyborg


Joined: 26 Oct 2004

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This wont work, becouse you only get the graphics effect and still see units under fog, but Ive got an idea:
Every unit has to be cloaked and has sensors and sensorssight=sight.
Yes,I know,submarines and other problems, but: Submarines can be subterrarean,so you cant fire on them,but they will then fire only when go up,but better than nothing. I think it will also break spies.
_________________
Time will tell...
Sooner or later...
Time will tell...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asvnix
Grenadier


Joined: 14 Dec 2008
Location: EXUSSR

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 6:24 am    Post subject: Re: Fog of War like in TS Reply with quote

ComradeSpike wrote:
Recently I was informed that in Deezire's rules guide it says that Fog Of War logic is disabled. That is not the case at all, It is quite simple to put Fog Of War back into the game.

;Here's the entries you need to modify in the Rules(md) file:
[General]
FogOfWar=yes;no             ; Is fog of war enabled?
BlendedFog=yes          ; should we blend the fog (as opposed to dither it)

[AudioVisual]
FogRate=.8;.01      ;How Fast should fogofwar grow?

[MultiplayerDialogSettings]
FogOfWar=yes;no

;Now modify any maps you want fog of War to be on
;In the Map File:
[SpecialFlags]
FogOfWar=yes;no

And that's it! you should adjust 'FogRate' based on how fast you want the fog to grow. enjoy!  Very Happy


I have made everything like you have described but I have no result =/

Is it working on RA2YR with NPatch?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've never been able to get it working myself.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Eldrei
Missile Trooper


Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Location: Fixin' in mah PPM.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Those codes should be in maps and not in rulesmd.ini. I don't know why anyone likes Fog Of War in maps it's so annoying.
_________________
Clazzy wrote:
If the concept of a God was never created, would we invent one to describe what's outside our universe?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EricAnimeFreak
Tiberian Fiend


Joined: 14 Sep 2009
Location: USA New England

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just add this, closest I ever got. Place the new building somewhere on the map.

[YOURFOGGENERATOR]
Cost=5000
Armor=concrete
Owner=YuriCountry,Russians,Confederation,Africans,Arabs,British,French,Germans,Americans,Alliance
Power=5000
Sight=7
SpySat=yes
UIName=Name:YACOMD
Powered=false
Spyable=no
Adjacent=2
BuildCat=Power
DieSound=PowerPlantDie
Strength=50000
Drainable=no
SizeLimit=15
TechLevel=35
BaseNormal=yes
BuildLimit=1
Capturable=false
ExtraPower=5000
Passengers=0
Selectable=no
UnitAbsorb=no
Unsellable=yes
LeaveRubble=no
GapGenerator=yes
Prerequisite=none
CanBeOccupied=no
CanOccupyFire=no
Insignificant=no
NeedsEngineer=no
PoweredSpecial=yes
RequiredHouses=YuriCountry,Russians,Confederation,Africans,Arabs,British,French,Germans,Americans,Alliance
ClickRepairable=yes
ForbiddenHouses=none
GapRadiusInCells=254
ImmuneToPsionics=yes
HasRadialIndicator=true
IsImmuneToRadiation=yes
SuperGapRadiusInCells=255
LegalTarget=no
RadarVisible=no
RadarInvisible=yes
Image=
Invisible=yes

Don't forget to add your new building to you buildings list.

This creates a fog of war like effect. But it's kind of annoying, I recommend letting players build something like this.

[NEWSMALLTOWERFORFOGOFWAR]
Cost=150
Name=
Armor=steel
Image=GASPOT
Owner=British,French,Germans,Americans,Alliance,Russians,Confederation,Africans,Arabs,YuriCountry
Power=-15
Sight=10
Crewed=no
Points=80
UIName=Name:CA0014
Powered=no
Adjacent=15
BuildCat=Combat
Strength=200
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
MaxDebris=15
MinDebris=7
TechLevel=1
BaseNormal=no
BuildLimit=25
Capturable=false
Selectable=yes
AIBuildThis=no
DebrisAnims=DBRIS1LG,DBRIS1SM,DBRIS2LG,DBRIS4LG,DBRIS4SM,DBRIS5LG,DBRIS5SM,DBRIS6LG,DBRIS6SM,DBRIS7LG
LeaveRubble=no
SensorArray=yes
ThreatPosed=0
Prerequisite= ;"whatever you want"
SensorsSight=5
CanBeOccupied=yes
CanOccupyFire=yes
Insignificant=no
IsBaseDefense=yes
DetectDisguise=yes
RequiredHouses=YuriCountry,Russians,Confederation,Africans,Arabs,British,French,Germans,Americans,Alliance
ClickRepairable=no
ForbiddenHouses=none
ImmuneToPsionics=yes
DamageSmokeOffset=1470, 1060, 1078
MaxNumberOccupants=2
DetectDisguiseRange=1
PsychicDetectionRadius=12

Hope this helps someone!

Last edited by EricAnimeFreak on Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:07 am; edited 1 time in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
001010011100101110
Commander


Joined: 18 Aug 2009

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 11:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why do you have SuperWeapon=PIONCANNON??

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EricAnimeFreak
Tiberian Fiend


Joined: 14 Sep 2009
Location: USA New England

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahh I missed that, fixed now.
I pulled the code from one of my own maps, I was of course bound to miss something.
_________________
Grab my Map Logic Expansion Pack 5.2 here!
Adds random weather patterns into maps.
More disabled navalyards.
Preplaced Neutral buildings.
Additional new features.

Enjoy Everyone!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lots of redundant & unneeded code in there :/

The maximum GapRadiusInCells I've had working is 127, any higher & it doesn't do anything.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Eldrei
Missile Trooper


Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Location: Fixin' in mah PPM.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

EricAnimeFreak wrote:
Just add this, closest I ever got. Place the new building somewhere on the map.

[YOURFOGGENERATOR]
GapRadiusInCells=254
SuperGapRadiusInCells=255

[NEWSMALLTOWERFORFOGOFWAR]


Two flaws:
1. Causes lag like the Cloak Logic.
2. The names are too big. Also they don't apply with that Name Logic..I think.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EricAnimeFreak
Tiberian Fiend


Joined: 14 Sep 2009
Location: USA New England

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I never really noticed any lag, and you might be right about the gap distance, on the maps i implemented fogofwar on, I had themp set for a smaller number and put them in the 4 corners of the map.
As for the names, I just randomly put those in, if someone wants to use the code, they can use whatever names they like.
_________________
Grab my Map Logic Expansion Pack 5.2 here!
Adds random weather patterns into maps.
More disabled navalyards.
Preplaced Neutral buildings.
Additional new features.

Enjoy Everyone!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Tutorials Vault
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1715s ][ Queries: 10 (0.0075s) ][ Debug on ]