:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Mon Dec 06, 2021 10:35 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Resizing & Recoloring SHP Files ?
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
adamstrange
Flamethrower


Joined: 07 Mar 2013

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2021 1:54 am    Post subject:  Resizing & Recoloring SHP Files ? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I want to make a new Brute but I want it to be bigger and I want it to be a brownish red.

I found this tutorial
https://ppmforums.com/topic-1418/resizing-shps/

Problem is its either incomplete or wrong because it doesn't tell you how to open a shp with the xcc mixer since it is only looking for mix, big, dat or pkg files and I used XCC Mixer and the XCC Editor and neither one opens shp files.

I searched the XCC site as well as the documentation and there is nothing on opening shp files or resizing them so I don't know what program he was talking about to do this.

If this tutorial is wrong then it should be corrected or removed from the site because it's misleading.

So how do I resize and recolor the Brute ?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2021 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The tutorial is correct, it's just badly written...

Use XCC Mixer to navigate to the location of the SHP file & then right click on it to bring up the options menu. At the bottom of the options list is the resize tool.

That tutorial was made 18 years ago, since then SHP Builder has been released which does a lot better job at resizing & can also recolour SHP files too, so I'd recommend using that instead.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
adamstrange
Flamethrower


Joined: 07 Mar 2013

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2021 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

There seems to be several badly written tutorials and missing proper HOW TO documentaion of these programs because i've wasted hours going through various sites and not finding how to properly resize and recolor units in RA2.
This is supposed to be the easy way to recolor a SHP taken from this tutorial.
Joining SHP frames into a singleframe PCX
https://modenc.renegadeprojects.com/Using_XCC_Mixer_to_split_a_singleframe_PCX_into_multiframe_SHP

And yet this is the result of following those steps, exactly from what is stated so there is something missing from this tutorial that was left out.


Next is the resize function in XCC mixer, which it turns out that there is no mention of this at the XCC site and that you cannot resize  SHP file because its not selectable.

And last is that I could not find how to resize the brute properly using OS SHP Builder and no tutorials anywhere that work because when I did resize it, it appeared in the game but all it did was slide around.


It appears the program only resized just one part of the image.
So the tutorial that tells you how to batch convert all the files into one for recoloring doesn't work and the latest version of SHP Builder has no documentation on how to batch resize a SHP file and I looked on various site and found nothing

So again I ask, what is the actual working way using these or another program that will allow me to resize and recolor RA2 units ?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
4StarGeneral
General


Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Location: Limbo

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2021 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'll try to make this as simple for you as possible:

Look screen.
Use eyes.
XCC you screenshot.
Hold mouse.
Move mouse.
Open XCC mixer.
Find SHP.
Gently caress right of mouse with index finger.
Copy as PNG.
Finger left of mouse.
Open photoshop/photopea/etc.
Massage mouse.
Change size/color.
Use thumb on left mouse to Save.
Go XCC mixer.
Gently caress right of mouse with index finger again.
Copy as SHP (TS).
Fondle mouse to C:\Windows\.
Take ownership system32 folder.
Delete it.

You have now created you SHP.
_________________
"Don't beg for things; Do it yourself or you'll never get anything."

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail YouTube User URL
MasterHaosis
General


Joined: 01 Nov 2010
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2021 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

4StarGeneral, Very Happy

adamstrange, that is irrelevant how many ,,hours you wasted" if you did not find it on a real place or did not understand. How we all learned so far? Those tutorials were badly written for us back then, yet we learned how to resize it. Yet in our time, we had even less tutorials. But you want to hear the secret? Practice man, practice, you won't be SHP pro overnight.
This is how I make stuff. I am using Irfan View for those basic stuff such as resize and basic filters. For more serious stuff I use GIMP. But, when I make buildings, I resize them frame by frame since it got regular and damaged frames, so not big deal. I resize them in Irfan View, you can use whatever program you want. SInce buildings are bigger, try to avoid OSHP Builder resize since it is not that good. For example if you want larger image, and want to resize, you may want to apply sharp filter or to adjust colors. I resize one frame in program, copy paste back in SHP Builder, and save.
For units, well, I use SHPO builder resize. Go to Edit ---> resize. Not reize canvas, just resize and it will give you the option dimensions or percentages, depending of what you need.
Oh by the way, if you resize stuff in program, watch out shadows! Since shadows must be exactly second color in palette or 13 if black used for infantry. Have in mind that in this case it will be color 1 and 12 (since counting starts from 0. not 1).
_________________

PPM Halloween Season 2021

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
Defense Minister


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2021 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

My upsized YR building is getting some use I see.
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1508s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0112s) ][ Debug on ]