:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Thu Sep 29, 2022 1:38 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Mapping Discussion
FA2 replacement art not showing in snow theater only?
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
G-E
Defense Minister


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2022 4:17 am    Post subject:  FA2 replacement art not showing in snow theater only? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'm not sure I've encountered this before, but I haven't made much in the way of wintery city maps, and it's only now that I'm working on a proper road tileset that it's becoming feasible.

All building art is in the same ecache.mix so there's no issue of some unreadable mix with all the snow art, and yet, FA2 will not override the original snow art with the replacement?

Anyone encounter this, or is something wonky on my end? Is this something that can be fixed in SP ?


theaterglitch.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  494.48 KB
 Viewed:  452 Time(s)

theaterglitch.jpg



_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2022 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If using latest fa2sp.dll from Secsome, try adding Theaters section to FAData.ini like

[Theaters]
0=TEMPERATE
1=SNOW
2=URBAN

Unlike game, in FA2, ecache is topmost in mix loading, so it shouldn't have been a mix loading problem. With latest fa2sp.dll you can define your own mix files in FAData.ini to override game content for FA2. Check the document file.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
Defense Minister


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2022 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You mean this?
Code:
[ExtraConfigs]
buxu\123.mix=Yes
money.txt=No

; This means FA2 takes {FA2PATH\buxu\123.mix} into consider, and if not found the file,
; it will search the file in {GAMEPATH\money.txt}, if this one still doesn't have the file,
; FA2 will try to find the file as it used to be.

_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2022 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Try like

[ExtraMixes]
0=buildings.mix
1=units.mix

Should be able to use folder path too like
1=mix\units.mix ; in mix folder under FA2

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
Defense Minister


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2022 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I tried ExtraMixes and ExtraConfigs, nothing changes. Even specifying the filenames=yes.

Remember it is overriding temperate and urban art.

Also renaming the ecache.mix to expand.mix makes no difference.
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2022 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Check with map renderer to rule out any theater specific naming or graphics or art entry or other problems.

Check with original FA2 to rule out FA2sp.

A known bug with FA2 is with shp having radar color 0. Such shp can be re-saved in SHP Builder with save as option to get non-zero radar color.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
Defense Minister


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2022 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Like I said, in all respects it works, CNCMaps, the game itself, only FA2 is borked.
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2022 3:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Use - https://ppmforums.com/topic-18679/tsra2-shp-radar-colour-editor/

Check if your snow shp files have radar color values as all 0s.
If so, make it higher.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
Defense Minister


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2022 3:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I keep telling you that's not it. I just opened 4 of the override shps, just to show you none of them are zeros.

I edit them like literally every other building, resaving the original shp with new images.

This is an FA2 problem.


radars.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  190.37 KB
 Viewed:  221 Time(s)

radars.jpg



_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Mapping Discussion
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1837s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0154s) ][ Debug on ]