:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Fri Dec 02, 2022 12:38 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
How to extend the number of sound event at one time?
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
wofulo
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 19 Feb 2021

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2022 12:17 am    Post subject:  How to extend the number of sound event at one time?
Subject description: Tracks/wheels sounds missing at certain point
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I meet a stubborn problem about adding reliable background sounds for tracks and wheels.

I added various sound effects for different vehicles, and they work really well. But they tend to disappear when multiple sounds are demanded to play all together.

For example, if a Grizzly, a Mirage and a Prism start to move simultaneously. One of the tanks will have it tracks sound muted. And will be muted for the rest of the game. This is very annoying. Even if I let all tanks using the same sound. The sound will disappear half-way the game, due to too many sounds events have taken place in the field.

I tried to give it "Type= ambient", put in "ambient" and delete "ambient" in the "control=", set priority high, and set back to low, adjust default limit to 55, to 10. None of these methods work.

I personally think that I have reached the max number of sound events that game allows. Is there any solution to this?


in soundmd.ini
[GrizzlyTankMoveStart]
Sounds= crusaderup $crusader crusaderend
Control= attack loop decay ambient
;Delay=0 400
Priority=Low
FShift= -10 10
VShift=15
Volume=60;30
Attack=1
Decay=1

[MGTKMoveStart]
Sounds= horchup $horch horchend
Control= attack loop decay ambient
;Delay=0 400
Priority=Low
FShift= -10 10
VShift=15
Volume=60;30
Attack=1
Decay=1

[SREFMoveStart]
Sounds= mk7up $mk7 mk7end   ;pz2up $pz2 pz2end sounds like car          ;bishopup $bishop bishopend ;bishop is too identical to crusader
Control= attack loop decay ambient
;Delay=0 400
Priority=Low
FShift= -10 10
VShift=15
Volume=60;30
Attack=1
Decay=1

in rulesmd.ini
[SREF]
MoveSound=GrizzlyTankMoveStart;SREFMoveStart
[MGTK]
MoveSound=GrizzlyTankMoveStart  ;MGTKMoveStart can't use multiple sounds for now. Game can't play too many songs at one time


t3485.wav
 Description:
exmple sound
 Filesize:  71.11 KB
 Viewed:  387 Time(s)


Right Click To Download This File



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
Defense Minister


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2022 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If you have too many simultaneous sounds, they aren't going to play as the buffer will fill up. Using the predelay, even with a smaller window (50 150) will help. As always make sure you keep the files as small as possible, in this particular case you could consider using IMA at 22khz 89kbit to see if it helps.

I also think having long attack/decay sounds borks the system. In a long game in my mod, sometimes one of the jet or heli sounds stops playing too. I still haven't nailed down precisely what's happening.

Lastly get a copy of my SoundCheck script and make sure you routinely check your audio+ini for consistency. Missing sounds or waves will cause weird shit to happen.
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wofulo
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 19 Feb 2021

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2022 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

G-E wrote:
If you have too many simultaneous sounds, they aren't going to play as the buffer will fill up. Using the predelay, even with a smaller window (50 150) will help. As always make sure you keep the files as small as possible, in this particular case you could consider using IMA at 22khz 89kbit to see if it helps.

I also think having long attack/decay sounds borks the system. In a long game in my mod, sometimes one of the jet or heli sounds stops playing too. I still haven't nailed down precisely what's happening.

Lastly get a copy of my SoundCheck script and make sure you routinely check your audio+ini for consistency. Missing sounds or waves will cause weird shit to happen.


No. Predelay doesn't work. Beside the predelay only random delays the main sound, causing the start-up sound desync with the track sound.
I have converted one of the track files to ima format. But the file size got bigger(no khz option online) so I didn't put it into try. I didn't know the game can read files other than wav.

I'm compressing some files to see if it works.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
Defense Minister


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2022 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The wave file you posted is IMA 44khz 177kbit already, I thought you knew about the formats.

Also I'm not sure if you're aware, but when you select a group of units and tell them to move or whatever, the game selects the one with highest points or highest leadership rating to represent the group. The move sounds being randomized gives each one a moment to play theirs alone.

As a side note, the engine will stack same-sound plays if they are initiated at the same time, and will make it a single loud output. If you are getting rid of the random delay, you guarantee that the move sounds will stack, the way selecting a bunch of GIs to deploy or attack something becomes almost screaming, so I could see it being annoying when moving a fleet of whatever unit.
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wofulo
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 19 Feb 2021

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2022 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ah I see. I didn't know that so new knowledge acquired.  Laughing

By the way the file I compressed simply gave me a terrifying high- pitched noise, rendering it completely unusable.


I don't know that the move sound is randomized to each unit by turn. If that's what you mean.

But by my observation my tanks start to roar immediately when I issued the move order. Only that the third one is dumb. During engagement they all become dumb at some moment.  Specially after the EVA "unit lost" interrupted.

Stacking movement sound is not a big deal to me. It actually makes the ambient much better.

In my mod my tanks manuver at 2~3 and minimum cannon range is 15.  So speed=4 already means super agile tank. It's funny to see some tanks without sound gliding through the battlefield.

I don't know if there is a way to increase the music buff.  It really hinders what I try to achieve. Crying or Very sad


tnkd.png
 Description:
just a showcase
 Filesize:  255.83 KB
 Viewed:  320 Time(s)

tnkd.png



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
Defense Minister


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2022 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Continuous move sounds will overload the buffer, even with Priority=lowest. I have chosen to only use such continuous effects on aircraft so you can hear them coming.

One other thing that will help you on the ambient sounds of all types, including moves, is to set Limit= between say 1-3, depending on type.
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wofulo
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 19 Feb 2021

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2022 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Humm. Perhaps there's another way around. I can get rid off some unnecessary sounds. Like unit lost. Those Eva sounds pretty size -massive. Thank you for your advice. I think it points out a general headway.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adamstrange
Stealth Laser Trooper


Joined: 07 Mar 2013

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2022 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have the same problem, but I was wondering if it's a sound card issue.

Right now, I have the game loaded on a laptop that has a BEATS AUDIO feature, which I shut off because it's horrible.

I have every tank and unit with a different firing sound and each unit has several versions of their firing sound, like around 6 versions and about 3 tanks that have around 10 to 12 variations.

I notice that some that have fast firing rates, the sounds will cut off either due to the sound engine or my sound card.

I've yet to install the game in my other computers that has a SoundBlaster Live card and on another PC I have a SoundBlaster Audigy Platimum card which can handle dozens of sounds simultaneously.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wofulo
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 19 Feb 2021

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2022 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I play other games like Men of War on the same computer. I didn't notice any missing audio. I think it's not the hard drive issue.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Artraiden
Medic


Joined: 23 Apr 2017

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2022 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Loop sounds full shit for this game engine, they brokes at first-second play. Maybe Phobos/Ares creators can fix this in future. You can use inerrupt on some sounds

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
Defense Minister


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2022 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I think it's possible attack and decay aren't calculated into buffer allocation properly, and too many uses can trigger an overflow of sorts.
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1989s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0142s) ][ Debug on ]