Project Perfect Mod Forums
:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::


The time now is Sun Mar 03, 2024 5:28 am
All times are UTC + 0
Entering A Building Triggers ParaDrop ?
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
adamstrange
Tiberian Fiend


Joined: 07 Mar 2013

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2023 3:09 pm    Post subject:  Entering A Building Triggers ParaDrop ? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I want to have an engineer enter a specific building [Einsteins's Lab] to trigger a ParaDrop...how do I do this ?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2023 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Is this for a skirmish map or a single player map? Do you want the paradrop to be an automatic one time reinforcement or a recurring superweapon etc?

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
adamstrange
Tiberian Fiend


Joined: 07 Mar 2013

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2023 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

It's for a skirmish map and one time only.

Before I posted for help, I tried to do it, but the game would instantly freeze when the map opened.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2023 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Easiest option would be give the building a superweapon & use Ares to limit it to only one use & make it automatically fire after it has been captured by the engineer.

You could use map triggers but it would be quite complex to set up, especially in a skirmish map where you would need to make copies of every trigger/event for each player.

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
G-E
Defense Minister


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2023 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If it's not a custom paradrop, you could just attach the regular paradrop superweapon to the building?

Alternatively if this is a mod map, you could consider making a custom superweapon with Ares in your rules.ini that you only use for your map. It seems redundant, but are you worried about a few bytes of space? I have a number of weapons and alternative voxel art that are only ever referenced via the maps.

_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adamstrange
Tiberian Fiend


Joined: 07 Mar 2013

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2023 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

In my mod, all tech centers have the paradrop superweapon which shouldn't even be called a superweapon because it only drops 6 or 8 units, so I increased paradrops to real world figures for battles dropping around 70.

What I did for the map CITY UNDER ATTACK was to remove almost all the already placed civilian units and increased all the enemy paradrop units and the supply base reinforcements.

This map is just for fun as I'm up against 2 American bases and huge reinforcements, which I got to work.

The trigger that I want just for my side is if I can make it to Engstien's Lab and go inside, it will paradrop special units at a waypoint.

This is the trigger that I tried, but when the map opens, it crashes the game.



2023-04-06_193004.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  646.34 KB
 Viewed:  1049 Time(s)

2023-04-06_193004.jpg



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2023 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

For skirmish maps the House setting in the trigger needs to be <Player @ A>, <Player @ B>, <Player @ C>, <Player @ D>, <Player @ E>, <Player @ F>, <Player @ G> or <Player @ H>, A-H being the player numbers 1-8 on the map.

This is because there could be multiple players using the same "Russian" house etc & the game wouldn't know which one is which. So in skirmish maps you instead use the player number/starting position as the house.

As the trigger's owner is linked to the player starting position if you only make one trigger with <Player @ A> then it will only work for the player at starting point 1. So You'll need to make a copy of the trigger for each possible player on the map.

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
adamstrange
Tiberian Fiend


Joined: 07 Mar 2013

PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2023 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I tried it and it crashes the game.

I want the civilians to be american so I set it to that.
american being player 1 so all the civilian forces are now american.

I set it the way you said but the game crashes.

The allied factory in the middle of the map with pill boxes i set that to american.

The reason I can't use ares is because im using a old 43 inch LCD screen and when i start up ares there is a error sound that comes up and the screen stays black.

i tried resizing the screen but i can't see the error message like i use to when using a 27 inch computer monitor

Here is the map that im trying to get this to work



city under attack day2 [2-3].yrm
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  city under attack day2 [2-3].yrm
 Filesize:  305.8 KB
 Downloaded:  12 Time(s)


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
Defense Minister


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2023 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Why don't you lower your resolution on the 43"? I use a 55" at 1080p, but it will display 720p as well.

_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2023 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Pre-placed units/buildings on skirmish maps can only be owned by the Civilian house. Because again, if there are multiple players that use America the game wont know who to give the the units to.

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
 
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.2200s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0131s) ][ Debug on ]