:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::

Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Tue May 18, 2021 2:47 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Tutorials Vault
[RA2/YR] Unique units built only once
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [25 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Allied General
General


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2005 11:57 am    Post subject:  [RA2/YR] Unique units built only once Reply with quote

Stalin wrote:
20.04.05
[RA2/YR] Unique units built only once, Once they're gone, they're gone!
Yes, only having one Tanya or Boris is realistic unlike Tanya clones in RA1. But its unrealistic when Tanya dies and you make a clone of her and build her again. To have Tanya, Boris, YP, or any other unit only buildable once per game, add 'BuildLimit=-1' to the unit. It won't build infinite units. Once you build the unit, the icon dissapears for the rest of the game!  


Key Words: #Tutorials #Modding #RedAlert2 #YurisRevenge #Rules.INI 

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Clazzy
Karma Police


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Location: Algae Colony On Mars

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2005 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was sure that this only worked in Tiberian Sun. I tried this in YR once and (unless I made a mistake) it built normally (no limit at all).
_________________
Quote:
This is sexier than what this forum was supposed to tolerate. - Banshee

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GeckoYamori
Cyborg Artillery


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2005 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wouldn't sacrifice gameplay/fun factor for the sake of realism. You'd have to make the hero units a LOT more useful to balance this out.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DoMiNaNt_HuNtEr
General


Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Location: North America Posts: You cannot comprehend...

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2005 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Soo true
_________________
Destroy to create. All for the hunt to dominate!

IN-GAME NAME: MAKINTOKE

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XxpeddyxX
Commander


Joined: 03 Sep 2004

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, It's like War craft isn't it... Your Hero dies, you revive it again.
_________________

ayylmao on Discord

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Allied General
General


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Clazzy it does work, i've done it in my mod.

It useful for balancing special mod units like mobile war factories ..
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
XxpeddyxX
Commander


Joined: 03 Sep 2004

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I think it only works in TS.
_________________

ayylmao on Discord

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theidiot
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 29 Apr 2005

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no it works in red alert 2 yuris revenge only. Because boris you can build only one.
_________________
IM A COMPLETE MORON

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
XxpeddyxX
Commander


Joined: 03 Sep 2004

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

-.-... I think I know because I tested it. And if you read carefuly we know that "BuilLimit=1" works in TS, RA2 and YR but "BuildLimit-1" making it buildable once only works in TS...
_________________

ayylmao on Discord

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jah
Commander


Joined: 23 Nov 2002

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You wanted to say "BuildLimit=-1"?
_________________
in 2009 to Florence. Viva Italia!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
John Galt
Commander


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Location: Galt's Gulch

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I can remember, it (BuildLimit=-1) worked in RA2 up to 1.006 when I tried it long ago. And after I read theidiot's post, I honestly ROFLed . That's just _too_ rich.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Allied General
General


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LMAO

BuildLimit=-1 works in YR 1.002 not BuildLimit-1

Its in my modification, its make the cameo and therefore build option disappear.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Vincent93
Commander


Joined: 07 May 2005
Location: Behind you!!!

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kinda cool but you still need to balance it!
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Skype Account
XxpeddyxX
Commander


Joined: 03 Sep 2004

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops, my bad... I typed BuildLimit=1 and the other one was meant to be BuildLimit-1 not BuildLimit=-1, maybe I was concentrated on the BuildLimit=1.
_________________

ayylmao on Discord

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Allied General
General


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Buildlimit=-1 is useful for one off powerful units which perhaps need to be deployed/undeployed i.e. mobile war or a core defender ....

Could also be useful for a strong superweapon or structure balancing.

This BuildLimit=-1 is also applicable to structures, defences.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Oshog
General


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 6:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well,it works for pretty much everything.Thanks for the tip!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Jah
Commander


Joined: 23 Nov 2002

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What if I set BuildLimit=-5? The icon will dissapear when I will build the fith unit?
_________________
in 2009 to Florence. Viva Italia!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
John Galt
Commander


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Location: Galt's Gulch

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Jah
Commander


Joined: 23 Nov 2002

PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 4:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool, this could be used for missions. For example a base has a limited amount of tanks, etc..
_________________
in 2009 to Florence. Viva Italia!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Oshog
General


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So this works with patches etc.?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Grievous
Disk Thrower


Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, of course this will waste the hero unit's SHPs and cameos and all, but if you want realism you could just use the generic "Commando" or Navy SEAL for that matter...
_________________
If the world didn't suck, we'd all fall into space...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Oshog
General


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But the heroes should be stronger and a lot more devastating.Or else theyre just a waste of money.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Alex06
Commander


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 4:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This IS kinda old, but with this, you might be able to remove the ability to rush units in RA2 and YR onto an enemy base by limiting them to a specific amout of each unit, this might add alot more strategic value to the game... Very Happy

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Oshog
General


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes,that would be nice.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Allied General
General


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wouldn't apply it to generic tanks which can never build again when exceed limit cos thats just silly

but yes buildlimits do help balance the game a lot and stops people from camping in those stupid games where no ore on map and cba to attack cos u know base is vunerable and will lose too many units in assault.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [25 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Tutorials Vault
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1594s ][ Queries: 10 (0.0087s) ][ Debug on ]