:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Fri Dec 14, 2018 12:53 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Featured Tools » Voxel Section Editor III » Support
Voxel III 1.38 under Wine?
Moderators: stucuk
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Orac
President


Joined: 11 Jul 2008
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:08 am    Post subject:  Voxel III 1.38 under Wine? Reply with quote

EDIT: I decided not to post this in VXL III's help section, because I don't know whether it's a problem with VXL III or Wine:
here Goes:
I'm guessing that this is a well known (or atleast known) problem, but a search of the fora yielded no help.
Here's the problem: Having two OS I am forced to switch between Linux and Windows for their various functionalities. I decided to install VXL III on Fedora 10 under Wine so that I could voxel to concepts and google images, and make it easier to discuss the voxel on MSN or such.
Well, it was a nice idea, flawed in it's realization.
Yes, the voxel editor works, but without a working 3D view. Without the 3D view I find it quite difficult to use (Or, in fact, 'useless').

Any idea how I can fix it?

I do rather like Wine, just last week I got to play TS on it - making my need of Windows almost obsolete. (other than, of course, voxelling...)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clazzy
Karma Police


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Location: Algae Colony On Mars

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could try a virtual machine, VMWare Workstation 6.5 is actually quite good for running some 3D applications.

As for the problem itself, if the view is rendered using D3D in some form then possibly using the native D3D dlls could work. It's solved issues I've had with a few games. Do you get any serious errors popping up in the terminal if you run it from there?
_________________
Quote:
This is sexier than what this forum was supposed to tolerate. - Banshee

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Orac
President


Joined: 11 Jul 2008
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it runs fine for the most part, I can paint, fill, normal, all but the 3D view.


Thanks, Clazzy. I'm looking into this 'VMWare' thing.
However, I have no knowledge of the dlls - I'm just a humble voxeller.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daTS
Mr. Moosey


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Location: Star Kingdom of Manticore

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

make sure 3d view is enabled.
I once spent 4 hours trying to figure out why it didn't work, and it turned out I had accidentally disabled it.
_________________
"Reality is a lovely place, but I wouldn't want to live there." -Adam Young
Founder - Savage Media Group

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Skype Account
Orac
President


Joined: 11 Jul 2008
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 3:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ha! First thing I did.! Very Happy But it's pretty obviously broken - it looks like very colourful static. Hang on - PrntScrn...
You'll notice that I have full functionality to all of the options, other than 3D view.
But really, this topic has explained everything to me, and I can now attempt a few other possibilities.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a friend that reports the same problem. I hope I can fix it once the new renderer is done.

Clazzy wrote:
As for the problem itself, if the view is rendered using D3D in some form then possibly using the native D3D dlls could work. It's solved issues I've had with a few games. Do you get any serious errors popping up in the terminal if you run it from there?


VXLSE III 1.38 uses OpenGL. And according to the screen, it seems that the WINE emulated OpenGL is picking the wrong amount of bits per pixel and, as a consequence, the wrong red, green and blue colours.

VXLSE III requires a 32 bits colour depth to work correctly.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Featured Tools » Voxel Section Editor III » Support
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
Quick Reply
Username:


If you are visually impaired or cannot otherwise answer the challenges below please contact the Administrator for help.


Write only one of the following words: Brotherhood, unity, peace! 

 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1122s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0034s) ][ Debug on ]