:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Wed Nov 22, 2017 3:52 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Generals Editing Forum » Tutorials Warehouse
Adding Starting Units.
Moderators: Generals Moderators, Global Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [2 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
DaFool
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Nov 2006

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 12:57 am    Post subject:   Adding Starting Units. Reply with quote

This tutorial requires that you edit the PlayerTemplate.ini

Sick of just having that one boring old dozer at the start of the match?  Well, you can change this by having the sides start out with their own little mini armies at the beginning of every match.  This is fairly simple to do, as you are basically only manipulating 1 tag.  Just go to the template of the faction you want to edit, and look for the tag "  StartingUnit0     = ".  You can copy the tag and change the number (I have found that 0-9 works perfectly) to add aqnother starting unit.

Thats basically it, I know this is probably the shortest tutorial ever, but hey, you can get game changing results almost instantly.

If the amount of starting units is limited to 10, I might try to post some ways to get around this, such as manipulating a unit like the troop crawler, that comes with units in it,  The trick will be making the units get out the unit, and then making it dissappear (unless you would infact want that unit).

Key Words: #Tutorials #Modding #Generals #ZeroHour 

_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JJ_
Light Infantry


Joined: 12 Sep 2008

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To get more than 10 start units, have the game spawn a dummy object as a start unit. The dummy object has a short lifetime and will spawn the number of units you want through OCL. Be sure to tweak the offset value in the OCL or the units will stack right on each other.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [2 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Generals Editing Forum » Tutorials Warehouse
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1144s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0152s) ][ Debug on ]