:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Tue Aug 14, 2018 9:16 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Featured Projects » Dawn of the Tiberium Age » Support & Feedback
Game keeps minimizing it'self.
Moderators: Dawn of the Tiberium Age Staff
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Dotcom656
Civilian


Joined: 24 Mar 2010

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 8:44 pm    Post subject:  Game keeps minimizing it'self. Reply with quote

So I installed the mod (tried with and without the second zip inside the main archive) and upon start using the executable (both in the second zip and the main one) the game just minimizes itself and when I try to maximize it, it just goes back minimized. What am I doing wrong?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bittah Commander
Defense Minister


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That sounds unusual... Did you check whether this also happens in (vanilla) Tiberian Sun?
If not, try changing DTA's resolution in Settings_DTA.ini.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL
undermannen
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 22 Dec 2008
Location: Where you are not.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you cjecked for 3rd party programs? maybe a virus?
_________________

Dont look in his eyes!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dotcom656
Civilian


Joined: 24 Mar 2010

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vanilla TS works fine and I've adjusted the res to my native red and also tried with it as default TS res.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bittah Commander
Defense Minister


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds very unusual... Try disabling your firewall/virus scanner and see if it still happens.
Also see what happens when you try running it in windowed mode (to do that, create a shortcut to DTA.exe, open the shortcut in properties and then add -win after the target line).
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL
Dotcom656
Civilian


Joined: 24 Mar 2010

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why would my firewall or scanner affect it? and I'm going to redownload and try from a clean install, do I have to insert the files inside the DTAMOD.zip or just the files in the main zip?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dotcom656 wrote:
try from a clean install

what do you mean with a clean install? Do you move the DTA files in your TS folder?
If yes don't do that.
DTA is standalone and doesn't needs TS.
Just create/use an empty folder and copy there all the DTA files (not the DTAmod files, as these are only for you if you want to create a mod for/with DTA)
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dotcom656
Civilian


Joined: 24 Mar 2010

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wish there was an emote for this but my jaw dropped about 50 feet through the floor. I've been installing it to my TS install! let me try this standalone and see how it goes now.

EDIT: got a "one or more DLL files are damaged or missing" error.

Second EDIT: Okay the first error was apparently only a one time thing. it works! hanks guys. also how do I change it's resolution to be 1920x1080?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bittah Commander
Defense Minister


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 12:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Normally the missing DLLs error occurs when you don't have administrative rights, but since it only occurred once, let's just forget about it #Tongue

Anyway, you should be able to simply change your resolution to 1920x1080 in the options menu (if your graphics card and monitor support it anyway), but if not, you can also do it in the Settings_DTA.ini file.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL
Player1
Soldier


Joined: 05 Jan 2010

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for the slight bump, but just move your mouse in a circle while its loading up, and that will stop.
_________________
Red Alert Reloaded

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChronoSeth
Sergeant


Joined: 13 Mar 2010
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Really not sure why Player1's remedy would work...

Bittah: on DTA's site I think you should specifically say not to put DTA into Tiberian Sun's folder to prevent future confusion.
_________________
Dawn of the Tiberium Age staff member

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Orac
President


Joined: 11 Jul 2008
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 3:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Player1 wrote:
Sorry for the slight bump, but just move your mouse in a circle while its loading up, and that will stop.

Really? It was sacrificing a baby goat to the dark gods of Babylon which worked for me.

Last edited by Orac on Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:10 am; edited 1 time in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bittah Commander
Defense Minister


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 3:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ChronoSeth wrote:
on DTA's site I think you should specifically say not to put DTA into Tiberian Sun's folder to prevent future confusion.

Well, I actually never knew that placing it in Tiberian Sun's folder could cause problems; in fact it shouldn't because DTA mostly uses different file names from TS...
Also, I did write installation instructions on the download page and clearly stated DTA should be extracted into an empty folder.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL
Player1
Soldier


Joined: 05 Jan 2010

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ChronoSeth wrote:
Really not sure why Player1's remedy would work...

Bittah: on DTA's site I think you should specifically say not to put DTA into Tiberian Sun's folder to prevent future confusion.


Trust me I had it happen for ages Wink Have no idea how I found that out or why it works but it worked for me.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Featured Projects » Dawn of the Tiberium Age » Support & Feedback
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
Quick Reply
Username:


If you are visually impaired or cannot otherwise answer the challenges below please contact the Administrator for help.


Write only one of the following words: Brotherhood, unity, peace! 

 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1198s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0080s) ][ Debug on ]