:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:01 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Ares (Unofficial Forum)
Easy way to have tank trails?
Moderators: Ares Support Team at PPM, Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
NimoStar
Cyborg Cannon


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Location: Buenos Aires

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 5:38 pm    Post subject:  Easy way to have tank trails?
Subject description: Not sure if implementsd, but it should...
Reply with quote

Not sure if implementsd, but it should...

Many RTS and even openRA have tank trails where tanks and other tracked and wheeled vehicles leave clouds of dust where they pass.

This would be quite easy to impkement as RA2 already has a Trail mechanic, and it works for aircraftypes.

Simply enabling it for vehicles and infantry shoudn't be that much of a hassle, should it?

Seems like a simple enough feature, and it has garnered lots of applause in openra mods/games. (not the official ones, of course)
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trailers already work for vehicles but (like aircraft) they spawn from the center of the unit, so they are are only useful for motorbikes.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
NimoStar
Cyborg Cannon


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Location: Buenos Aires

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Couldn't you edit the .hva or voxel file of a tank to make the "center" be the tail of the vehicle?

Of course this would bring some undesirable grphical effects in other areas, such as the tank not turning from the middle, but it is a way.

Perhaps "trailer.offset=-XX" ? In art.md - Measured from the center of the vehicle and according to it's direction like the firing point.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cxtian39
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: United States

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NimoStar wrote:
Couldn't you edit the .hva or voxel file of a tank to make the "center" be the tail of the vehicle?

Of course this would bring some undesirable grphical effects in other areas, such as the tank not turning from the middle, but it is a way.
Not only that, you also have overlap problem with other vehicle
_________________
Aircraft Factory Mod
Command & Conquer: Genetic Rhapsody

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok random thought, you could use Initial Payload to add dummy infantry to the unit, then make them auto fire dummy weapons with a FLH under the wheels/tracks, then use the firing anim for the dust cloud/trailer.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
4StarGeneral
Commander


Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Location: Constant Flux

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What about the use of Next= on the trailer to make a delay to fix the center issue?
_________________
"Don't beg for things; Do it yourself or you'll never get anything."
Lin Kuei Ominae wrote:
wrong forum. this is not minecraft.


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The issue is that you'd want the trailers to be on the sides of the unit under the wheels/tracks. Using next would make it spawn behind the unit & would still be on the center axis.

Edit: I did some testing & I got shp trailers to work at multiple locations on a unit using the dummy infantry idea that I mentioned above, I can't get a LineTrail to work tho which would work a lot better & be a lot less memory draining.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
cxtian39
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: United States

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 2:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interestingly the game draws a water ripple trailer for everyone who travels on water, but nothing for land
_________________
Aircraft Factory Mod
Command & Conquer: Genetic Rhapsody

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
TAK02
Commander


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cxtian39 wrote:
Interestingly the game draws a water ripple trailer for everyone who travels on water, but nothing for land
Special coding for Water. Wouldn't make sense if a ship sailed through the water and no ripples were visible (outside of low visual settings), right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
cxtian39
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: United States

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TAK02 wrote:
cxtian39 wrote:
Interestingly the game draws a water ripple trailer for everyone who travels on water, but nothing for land
Special coding for Water. Wouldn't make sense if a ship sailed through the water and no ripples were visible (outside of low visual settings), right?
But it also draws ripples for robotank which doesn't touch the water at all Laughing
_________________
Aircraft Factory Mod
Command & Conquer: Genetic Rhapsody

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
TAK02
Commander


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cxtian39 wrote:
TAK02 wrote:
cxtian39 wrote:
Interestingly the game draws a water ripple trailer for everyone who travels on water, but nothing for land
Special coding for Water. Wouldn't make sense if a ship sailed through the water and no ripples were visible (outside of low visual settings), right?
But it also draws ripples for robotank which doesn't touch the water at all Laughing
It also draws ripples for the amphibious transports and Hover MRLS even though they don't touch the water either Wink

I think anything VehicleType will make ripples on water, regardless of Locomotor. This means the Squid, should it have Underwater=no would generate ripples too. I think.
Alternatively have the Terror Drone be amphibious, see where that'll get you.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
OmegaBolt
President


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would say there's a good chance such a method will lag for people though, Mig Eater. I did that for a subterranean unit, so it would show dirt on the ground above it, but people reported lag when just a few were moving around (even though I personally never experienced any).
_________________
TAK02 wrote:
Screw AttachEffect. Can't think of any use for it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah I would expect it to lag if several of them are on screen, why I thought using LineTrails would be better.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Ares (Unofficial Forum)
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1833s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0627s) ][ Debug on ]