Project Perfect Mod Forums
:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::


The time now is Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:15 pm
All times are UTC + 0
Assistance needed with unit-to-unit promotions
Moderators: Ares Support Team at PPM, Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
gameaddict11707
Grenadier


Joined: 15 Jul 2011

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2018 6:55 am    Post subject:  Assistance needed with unit-to-unit promotions
Subject description: Wall-of-text ini code under spoiler
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Is this a good working example of promotion-based unit-to-unit conversion? I'm probably doing it wrong here but I've encountered a couple problems.

1.) When SNIPE is promoted to Veteran and switches to SNIPE1, it's an Elite unit (that is, it has the abilities listed under EliteAbilities= and uses the ElitePrimary weapon, as well as displays the Elite insignia and the veterancy-select key shows it as an Elite unit)

2.) When a Spy infiltrates an enemy barracks to make my own produce Veteran infantry, this logic doesn't take effect until the unit is promoted through combat (maybe crates as well but I haven't managed to test that yet).

Using vanilla YR w/ Ares unstable alex20.18.254.1162

Spoiler (click here to read it):

Code:


[InfantryTypes]
;...vanilla yr infantry here
66=SNIPE1
67=SNIPE2

[SNIPE]
Promote.VeteranExperience=1.0
Promote.VeteranType=SNIPE1
Promote.EliteExperience=2.0
Promote.EliteType=SNIPE2
GroupAs=SNIPE
Ammo=1
PipScale=Ammo
Reload=150
Image=SNIPE; just to keep the game from freaking out over un-set flags
RadarInvisible=no
Cloakable=no
CloakStop=no
CloakingSpeed=10
Cloakable.Stages=9
CloakSound=NavalUnitEmerge
DecloakSound=NavalUnitEmerge
SensorArray.Warn=yes
UIName=Name:SNIPE
Name=Sniper
Category=Soldier
Primary=AWP
Prerequisite=GAPILE,RADAR
CrushSound=InfantrySquish
Strength=125
Pip=red
Armor=none
TechLevel=1
Sight=8
Speed=4
Owner=British,French,Germans,Americans,Alliance
RequiredHouses=British
Cost=600
Soylent=300
Points=10
IsSelectableCombatant=yes
VoiceSelect=SniperSelect
VoiceMove=SniperMove
VoiceAttack=SniperAttackCommand
VoiceFeedback=SniperFear
VoiceSpecialAttack=SniperMove
DieSound=SniperDie
Locomotor={4A582744-9839-11d1-B709-00A024DDAFD1}
PhysicalSize=1
MovementZone=Infantry
ThreatPosed=10
ImmuneToVeins=yes
ImmuneToPsionics=no
Bombable=yes
VeteranAbilities=STRONGER,FIREPOWER,SIGHT,FASTER
EliteAbilities=SELF_HEAL,STRONGER,FIREPOWER,ROF
Size=1
AllowedToStartInMultiplayer=no
ElitePrimary=VirusgunE
PreventAttackMove=no
IFVMode=5
UseOwnName=true

[SNIPE1]
Promote.VeteranExperience=1.0
Promote.VeteranType=SNIPE1
Promote.EliteExperience=2.0
Promote.EliteType=SNIPE2
GroupAs=SNIPE
Ammo=2
PipScale=Ammo
Reload=90
Image=VIRUS; just to show that it's reached a different stage
RadarInvisible=yes
Cloakable=no; just to keep the game from freaking out over un-set flags
CloakStop=no
CloakingSpeed=10
Cloakable.Stages=9
CloakSound=NavalUnitEmerge
DecloakSound=NavalUnitEmerge
SensorArray.Warn=yes
UIName=Name:SNIPE
Name=Sniper
Category=Soldier
Primary=AWP
CrushSound=InfantrySquish
Strength=125
Pip=red
Armor=none
TechLevel=11
Sight=8
Speed=5
Owner=British,French,Germans,Americans,Alliance
RequiredHouses=British
Cost=600
Soylent=300
Points=10
IsSelectableCombatant=yes
VoiceSelect=SniperSelect
VoiceMove=SniperMove
VoiceAttack=SniperAttackCommand
VoiceFeedback=SniperFear
VoiceSpecialAttack=SniperMove
DieSound=SniperDie
Locomotor={4A582744-9839-11d1-B709-00A024DDAFD1}
PhysicalSize=1
MovementZone=Infantry
ThreatPosed=10
ImmuneToVeins=yes
ImmuneToPsionics=no
Bombable=yes
VeteranAbilities=STRONGER,FIREPOWER,SIGHT,FASTER
EliteAbilities=SELF_HEAL,STRONGER,FIREPOWER,ROF
Size=1
AllowedToStartInMultiplayer=no
ElitePrimary=VirusgunE
PreventAttackMove=no
IFVMode=5
UseOwnName=true

[SNIPE2]
Promote.VeteranExperience=1.0
Promote.VeteranType=SNIPE1
Promote.EliteExperience=2.0
Promote.EliteType=SNIPE2
GroupAs=SNIPE
Ammo=3
PipScale=Ammo
Reload=54
Image=BORIS; just to show that it's reached a different stage
RadarInvisible=yes
Cloakable=yes
CloakStop=yes
CloakingSpeed=1
Cloakable.Stages=1
CloakSound=Dummy
DecloakSound=Dummy
SensorArray.Warn=no
UIName=Name:SNIPE
Name=Sniper
Category=Soldier
Primary=AWP
CrushSound=InfantrySquish
Strength=125
Pip=red
Armor=none
TechLevel=11
Sight=8
Speed=5
Owner=British,French,Germans,Americans,Alliance
RequiredHouses=British
Cost=600
Soylent=300
Points=10
IsSelectableCombatant=yes
VoiceSelect=SniperSelect
VoiceMove=SniperMove
VoiceAttack=SniperAttackCommand
VoiceFeedback=SniperFear
VoiceSpecialAttack=SniperMove
DieSound=SniperDie
Locomotor={4A582744-9839-11d1-B709-00A024DDAFD1}
PhysicalSize=1
MovementZone=Infantry
ThreatPosed=10
ImmuneToVeins=yes
ImmuneToPsionics=no
Bombable=yes
VeteranAbilities=STRONGER,FIREPOWER,SIGHT,FASTER
EliteAbilities=SELF_HEAL,STRONGER,FIREPOWER,ROF
Size=1
AllowedToStartInMultiplayer=no
ElitePrimary=VirusgunE
PreventAttackMove=no
IFVMode=5
UseOwnName=true



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
General


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2018 7:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

1. What I understand is Promote.VeteranExperience=1.0 on SNIPE will promote SNIPE1 from veteran to elite. Promote.VeteranExperience=0.0 will keep it veteran and Promote.VeteranExperience=-1.0 will make it rookie.

And you shouldn't be adding the same promotion stuff to SNIPE1 and SNIPE2. Those are independent units and can convert to something else if needed.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gameaddict11707
Grenadier


Joined: 15 Jul 2011

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2018 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ahh, I see now. Thank you so much, it works pretty much perfectly! Smile

_________________
aka SavebearingBoss

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Virgil
Stealth Laser Trooper


Joined: 22 Jul 2018

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2018 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

2. Conversion on promotion doesnt work with veterancy gained from infiltration or academies, IIRC AlexB has said something that before. I guess the way spy effect and academie working is promoting things before they are created, not creating them and then promote, thus no conversion.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gameaddict11707
Grenadier


Joined: 15 Jul 2011

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2018 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks for clearing that up.

_________________
aka SavebearingBoss

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
 
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1444s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0071s) ][ Debug on ]