:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Tue Mar 26, 2019 8:30 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum
Tiberian Sun Client
Moderators: Global Moderators, Tiberian Sun Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 8 of 8 [384 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8
Author Message
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2019 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just updated to service pack 2. Now trying to get a direct X 11 download. Seeing a lot which says 11 is only available from windows 7 up :/

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2019 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Downloaded a supposed update from a link off Microsoft for directx 11, although my dxdiag still says dx10.  Have done sp2 update, reinstalled the ts client and still getting the same red cross error telling me "unable to initialize  language.dll, please reinstall tiberian sun"

Am I to just assume this version is a no go ony laptop?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
^Rampastein
Rampastring


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Location: Gensokyo

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Start TiberianSun.exe instead of Game.exe.

DX11 used to be Windows 7 only, but it was later delivered to Vista through updates.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Started both. One says the red cross dll error and the other says "kabooooom tiberian sun has stopped working". It's almost like it's mocking me .....

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
Commander


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

w20adm wrote:
Started both. One says the red cross dll error and the other says "kabooooom tiberian sun has stopped working". It's almost like it's mocking me .....

I'm pretty sure that error message is intended for those that actively break games on a daily basis and supossed to mock them for their clumsiness/idiocy.
You know, those modders... #Tongue

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
^Rampastein
Rampastring


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Location: Gensokyo

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

w20adm wrote:
the other says "kabooooom tiberian sun has stopped working".


It doesn't end there; it should also give some details. What's the rest of the message?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll try again and post the full message.

Incidentally I've tried it on my other pc on windows xp and it gives me the same red dll error  and asks me to us tall the  same net.4 thingy it did on the laptop.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok it says

"Kabooom

Tiberian sun has crashed . Error message

Unable to load DLL 'd3d11.dll': the specified module could not be found.
(Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007007E)

If the issue is repeatable,  contact the TS staff at ppm forums.com/index.PhD?f=24."

The above is the message in its entirety.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
^Rampastein
Rampastring


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Location: Gensokyo

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, that's still the missing DirectX11 error.

As an alternative way to fix it, you can try the following:

1) Download and install Microsoft XNA Framework 4.0 Refresh: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=27598

2) Go to your Tiberian Sun directory, then the "Resources" sub-directory and from there start clientxna.exe
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL
Tuc0
AA Infantry


Joined: 26 Sep 2016
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2019 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have found interesting bug, probably side-effect from some game.exe patch:
When clicking on waypoint to enter waypoint-editing mode, it will also turn on/off Firestorm Defense superweapon (when charged)

Some thoughts: could be FSD superweapon action attached to keyboard shortcut? It would allow player react quickly instead of rolling whole scrollbar to find FSD cameo.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just had a thought,  would an incompatible graphics card stop directx 11 from appearing on my dxdiag list? Or would the sign of that simply be it'd give me an error message and not install?

I just have basic integrated graphics you see.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
^Rampastein
Rampastring


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Location: Gensokyo

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It'd install, but if it's an old integrated graphics part, then it likely doesn't support the necessary DX11 features for running the client in DX11 mode.

The XNA version is based on DX9 and does not demand as many modern features from the hardware, so it'll still likely work. You could try following the instructions I posted above.

The XNA version should also run on Windows XP btw, if you also install .NET Framework 4.0.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spot on mate. That xna worked perfectly. Got it working and get to enjoy the extra animations. Thanks for all your help. Appreciate the time.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One more question, I can't find the ini files for unit modding in the xna section, are these present?  Or is it not possible to change the ini files? I miss my spotlight alarm towers and light posts lol

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

INI folder contains the ini files, not in Resources folder.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've found them in the other client file, I assume changes I make will also be in effect for the xna version ?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Scratch that I've tested it. Got it all sorted.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for all your help everyone.

I like how this version gives me grief for simply altering simple things for the campaign like the building spotlight towers and light posts. "Do you really lack the skills to beat the game without it" it says.
An alarm  tower and light post hardly gives me an advantage!  Lol

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Set ModMode=true in Resources\ClientDefinitions.ini.

Also if you are altering, you shouldn't update the client or play online.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Doubt I'll be updating as I'm sure any updates won't work as the dx11 version definitely didn't on my laptop. I presume in using the xna version I'm using an inferior version to the 5.30 anyway. It asks me to update but I just say no.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
Commander


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should download 5.30 from moddb and then update it to 5.43. You should be able to run the clientxna.exe in 5.43 also. There are some important bug fixes and the ModMode is also enabled to remove the cheater dialog. So first update to 5.43 and then do your changes. Don't update further.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Updated to 5.43. My changes were only very minimal so I can easily re apply them.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mechacaseal
Rocket Cyborg


Joined: 29 Aug 2015

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2019 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i installed the client just now to see if they at least fixed the rpg component tower facing the wrong direction when firing on tundra maps. they did. easy fix tho just replace the tundra graphic with temperate one. the engineer still has no idle animations and the warfactory lights were actually distracting me. there's a lot of flaws with tiberian sun so fixing only a couple of them is kinda pointless. i wish the power plants had smoke coming out of them. i wish the units looked more detailed. really there is a endless amount that can be done to tiberian sun. a lot of the units and structures are shared among factions not that it needs to change tho but ya... cncnet didnt even fix the rpg facing the wrong way which takes two seconds to fix. but you can easily get carried away with all the fixes and changes and it can ruin the game for some people who don't like the changes. people are always doing graphic and shader mods and altho a lot of times it can look cooler it drifts away from the original vision of the game. which sucks.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2019 11:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All the animations fixes on this client as far as I'm aware were Westwood originals that for unknown reasons just got left out of the original final release.

As long as they were original animations that were removed and have just been restored on here that's all I really want,  and the basics fixed like the rpg so there's nothing daft left unfixed.

And yes the cncnet version didn't have the building animation fixes which began to really grate on me after a while lol. But it took so long to get this version working on my laptop so as superior a version as this one is the cncnet one had better compatibility.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2019 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also like features in this one like the health bars appearing above the units without actually having to select it (just move the cursor over it) when attacking.  Nice touch. The little harvester emptying animation where the back is sucked into the refinery too.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
^Rampastein
Rampastring


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Location: Gensokyo

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad to hear that you got it to work and are enjoying it!
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Upgrading to 5.43 still calls me a cheater for simply enabling a spotlight alarm tower ......

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2019 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Never mind I've done what was posted a few posts above. Changed the mod mode to true.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A bit off topic but can't find an answer.

Just installed twisted insurrection. Latest version. It works on the xna.exe and loads up the menus etc, but it crashes as soon as you try to play a mission or skirmish, i.e. actually play the thing it just instantly crashes and goes off before anything is loaded up.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

change the Renderer in MainMenu/Settings. Find one that works for you.


TI_Renderer.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  487.56 KB
 Viewed:  166 Time(s)

TI_Renderer.png



_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Brill. I'll give that a go. Thanks.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Put it on default and it's working.  Thanks!

Built a mammoth and it scared the s*** out of me.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w20adm
Medic


Joined: 02 Mar 2019

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lin Kuei Ominae wrote:
change the Renderer in MainMenu/Settings. Find one that works for you.


Whoever designed the level "flight" is an evil swine! Madness

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
^Rampastein
Rampastring


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Location: Gensokyo

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should bring Twisted Insurrection discussion to the Twisted Insurrection forum: https://ppmforums.com/index.php?f=746
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID Facebook Profile URL
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 8 of 8 [384 Posts] Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8
View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.2639s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0180s) ][ Debug on ]