:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:19 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Featured Tools » OS SHP Builder
Question about shadows in buildings
Moderators: stucuk
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [17 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Shadow Hunter
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Location: Brazil.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 10:43 pm    Post subject:   Question about shadows in buildings Reply with quote

I'm making a building with parts of anothers buildings of red alert 2 and I have 2 questions:

Have a tool in shp builder that makes shadow for a building?

If the shp have this tool how i can use it?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
MT
General


Joined: 23 Jun 2008
Location: Wandering Time

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The old SHP Builders have Autoshadows, although they aren't in the recent SHP Builders (I'm not sure when, all I know is that I have the recentest and its not in it). I do believe they were buggy though, hence them being disabled.

Search around the different versions and stuff here; I'm sure there is something about the autoshadows info.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shadow Hunter
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Location: Brazil.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok thanks, but how everyone makes shadows now if the new version does not have this?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Paranoia
Cyborg Specialist


Joined: 04 Aug 2007

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

they draw the shadow themselves

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shadow Hunter
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Location: Brazil.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 1:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Paranoia wrote:
they draw the shadow themselves


But they do this manually or with paint shop?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
MT
General


Joined: 23 Jun 2008
Location: Wandering Time

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 1:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thats like asking "do people eat waffles or pancakes?"
It could be either way, although one is better and higher quality #Tongue

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shadow Hunter
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Location: Brazil.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 2:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MT wrote:
Thats like asking "do people eat waffles or pancakes?"
It could be either way, although one is better and higher quality #Tongue


Man, shoot me, call me a noob and everything but i started yesterday to make shp's and i'm don't know nothing Very Happy and i don't have paint shop pro!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
MT
General


Joined: 23 Jun 2008
Location: Wandering Time

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shadow Hunter wrote:
MT wrote:
Thats like asking "do people eat waffles or pancakes?"
It could be either way, although one is better and higher quality #Tongue


Man, shoot me, call me a noob and everything but i started yesterday to make shp's and i'm don't know nothing Very Happy and i don't have paint shop pro!


No ones calling you a noob, it is perfectly normal to ask about such things as a beginner.

I don't have paint shop pro either, costs money x_x.
I thought you were talking about just giving them shadows, but now since you bring in making SHPs...

Most high quality SHPs are made in 3D (with programs such as 3DS Max, Maya, Blender etc.), and then converted to SHP (how else would LKO's awesome mechs exist? #Tongue).

I believe that when they render (take a high-quality picture of it with lighting) the 3d image, shadows are made and transferred. Such people who use the technique have little work to do in the actual SHP Builder.

Making SHPs is hard, you can't expect to know everything overnight. I'm still trying to learn 3d for it (and all I can make are pyramids or eggs), and I've first got it months ago.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roaches
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Location: Modding other games.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Shadow Hunter: you can get GIMP which is a free raster graphics editor like Photoshop and Paintshop Pro alike. Its really good. I think its better than some commercial graphics editor products out there. Smile
http://www.gimp.org/windows/
_________________

Quote:
Everybody knows a mod that doesn't update every ten seconds is dead.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dupl3xxx
Commander


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Location: somewhere south of the north pole

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use GIMP even thoug my school has given me PS CS3. Only gimp has them flame filters Very Happy
_________________
This is a signature

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Shadow Hunter
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Location: Brazil.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, thanks i will try to download GIMP (it will be a battle against my dial-up Very Happy ) and sorry for the questions! Smile

Wait! Just one more question: How version is good (and not more than 5mb Very Happy )?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Roaches
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Location: Modding other games.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well the latest version is most stable, and GIMP is like 28MB large in a compressed installer, as opposed to Photoshop which is around 500MB, so yeah its worth downloading. I'm pretty sure it won't be much of a problem downloading unless you got a bad internet connection.
_________________

Quote:
Everybody knows a mod that doesn't update every ten seconds is dead.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shadow Hunter
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Location: Brazil.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gamingroach wrote:
Well the latest version is most stable, and GIMP is like 28MB large in a compressed installer, as opposed to Photoshop which is around 500MB, so yeah its worth downloading. I'm pretty sure it won't be much of a problem downloading unless you got a bad internet connection.


Really?
Soo, i will ask to a friend download it and send to my cell phone (i can connect the cell phone to his computer) this is the only way!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can also use GIMP portable, which is easier to install and smaller (16mb) and runs everywhere once you install it in a pen drive or even in a hard disk.
http://portableapps.com/apps/graphics_pictures/gimp_portable

I've been playing with it recently and it is excellent.



Portuguese/Português (Brasil): Você pode baixar o GIMP Portable, que é mais fácil de instalar, é menor (16mb) e roda em qualquer lugar quando você instala ele num pen drive ou até mesmo num disco rígido.
http://portableapps.com/apps/graphics_pictures/gimp_portable


Eu brinquei com ele recentemente e ele é excelente.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Shadow Hunter
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Location: Brazil.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i will try but if i can't i will say to my friend download for me!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
xanax
Vehicle Drone


Joined: 14 Nov 2013

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MT wrote:
The old SHP Builders have Autoshadows, although they aren't in the recent SHP Builders (I'm not sure when, all I know is that I have the recentest and its not in it). I do believe they were buggy though, hence them being disabled.

Is it still planned to bring Autoshadows back in a future version?
I am using OS SHP Builder 3.38 beta 6 and "Autoshadows" is disabled.  Crying or Very sad

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, we have no plans to bring AutoShadows back. That tool is conceptually wrong. There is no way to define correct shadows when we lack three dimensional information of the graphic object.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [17 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Featured Tools » OS SHP Builder
Jump to:  
Quick Reply
Username:


If you are visually impaired or cannot otherwise play the game below please contact the Administrator for help.


 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.3368s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0065s) ][ Debug on ]