:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Sat Dec 15, 2018 1:46 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Other Projects » Released » Invasion Confirmed » Research
The Chrono Tank
Moderators: DaFool, Dutchygamer
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [27 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
DaFool
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Nov 2006

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 2:17 am    Post subject:  The Chrono Tank Reply with quote

Today I had a basic idea of how to create a working chronot tank that would function in essentially the same way as the original. Now I am trying to use this method to get everything to work, however this is a kinda complicated process so I am doing it in small trials to see how far I get with little edits at a time.

So I began like I always do, cloning a vehicle and making a few minor adjustments like health, primary weapon, cost etc etc. My chrono tank at this point is basically a heavy tank that has the weapon of missile soldier (this is testing purposes only). It works fine ingame, travels just like any other vehicle and shoots fine.

Trial 1: This is where the real editing begins. I created a new weapon for the chrono tank that does no damage and has Projectile detonation OCL. The OCL i made is just a single Chrono Tank. Ingame this does nothing. I then commented out the Projectile line and added a FireOCL and tested this ingame. The result was quite hilarious. When I force fired on the ground, the chrono tank began spawning more chrono tanks (at it's location, not where I force fired it). The weapon that I had modified had a very high ROF, so the screen soon filled with chrono tanks.

Trial 2: I gave the chrono tank back it's primary weapon (missile) and changed the spawning weapon to it's secondary. I then added a new command button based off of the Pilot Snipe button of Jarmen Kell that would control the spawn weapon, ie it's secondary. So now ingame when you select the tank and force fire, it will shoot weapons, but when you select the button, you choose a location, and then the chrono tank will spawn a tank at it's own location. Not exactly what I wanted, but it's a start.

In my future trials I will need to develop and test three things: 1)When a chrono tank spawns another, the original needs to be destroyed. 2)A spawned tank should be created at the location that is targeted. 3)And finally if possible veterancy and health should be transfered.


trial1.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  138.9 KB
 Viewed:  6214 Time(s)

trial1.jpg



trial2.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  103.57 KB
 Viewed:  6214 Time(s)

trial2.jpg



_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Holy_Master
Commander


Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Location: Thailand

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chrono Sheep Tank :p

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
inzane krazy
General


Joined: 07 Nov 2006
Location: Sketchpad

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh wow, they do look like sheep XD
_________________
Please, I DON'T read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Destiny
President


Joined: 02 May 2006
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maaaaaa-MISSILE BARRAGE! No, really. They really look like sheep. Reminds me of that member called Chronosheep. #Tongue
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Mortecha
Commander


Joined: 30 Nov 2006
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sheeps that are packing missile launchers:P

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DaFool
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Nov 2006

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well.....say whatever you want about the pack....

I just had an idea this morning which I think will frther my goals. FireOCL seems to be attached to the unit's location, so I will make an OCL that will play something similair to the chrono anim (maybe the emp one) and also (and more importantly) kill the chrono tank. When I get some free time, I'll test this out.
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OmegaBolt
President


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But then wont the Chrono Tank be able to "regenerate" its health? If the newly spawned unit has full health, then you can just chronoshift somewhere to stop your unit from dying.
_________________
TAK02 wrote:
Screw AttachEffect. Can't think of any use for it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Destiny
President


Joined: 02 May 2006
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's that delay for something Omega #Tongue
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
CCHyper
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Apr 2005

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice...

But im wondering if any of you units are being textured? #Tongue

All i see in untextured, sheep...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Destiny
President


Joined: 02 May 2006
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the mod's aim actually. Untextured, simple stuff. #Tongue
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Aro
Alcohol Fueled


Joined: 10 Sep 2006
Location: Birmingham, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't be bothered to read your entire post because I'm very tired, so I'll just say this anyway. If you're having trouble getting chrono logic to work properly, you should talk with the Shockwave team, if I remember correctly they've got a teleportation unit that is fully working and balanced in-game, with no errors. If I also remember correctly, it works the same as RA1's Chrono Tank (AKA It needs to pause for a moment before It can teleport again).

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The-Light
Grenadier


Joined: 08 Aug 2009
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That Chronotank idea has some point, I think It can work.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OmegaBolt
President


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Destiny wrote:
There's that delay for something Omega #Tongue
Drive. Chrono. DRIVE. CHRONO. Razz
_________________
TAK02 wrote:
Screw AttachEffect. Can't think of any use for it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
DaFool
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Nov 2006

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trial 3: I have been able to successfully make the chronotank spawn where the targat location is. I still have to refine this as there are several problems. One is I based the weapon off of a missile, so it can't shoot up cliffs, over mountains, buildings, etc. Secondaly, I can pretty much target anywhere, and the chrono tank will spawn there, including water. Then I have to address some of the problems listed above.


trial3.jpg
 Description:
The sheep is done with it's swim.
 Filesize:  56.58 KB
 Viewed:  6129 Time(s)

trial3.jpg



_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dutchygamer
President


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Location: Dordrecht, the Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Simple solution (as DaFool and I already discussed how SW does it): create temporal Tunnel Network at the Chrono Tank location, create one at target, give both an lifetime of 5 sec, and there you go. Problems: other units can use it too, and if you forget to evacuate the unit before the tunnel dies, you lose the unit #Tongue
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Destiny
President


Joined: 02 May 2006
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So it's not automatic go-in-and out? #Tongue
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Dutchygamer
President


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Location: Dordrecht, the Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As long as I dunno how SW does it, this is the best I can come up with. I could ask The_Hunter, but I doubt he will give me the code before the next SW release...
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
DaFool
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Nov 2006

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Last nights were nothing spectacular, although I made some interested errors. Anyways I was able to make the chronotank be able to spawn everywhere by adding a firing pitch to the unit, and the maxing the range of the unit.

I had another idea to emulate units which jump: just copy this idea, limit the range, and make the projectile look like the unit.
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaFool
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Nov 2006

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I finally got it to work. The chrono tank will now spawn a new tank and die itself. The secret is that I have the FireOCL spawn an object that will immediatly explode and kill the original chrono tank.

The pic belows shows it ingame. There still needs to be some stuff fine tuned, for example the object that kills the original chrono tank has a lifespan of a few second, which has to be shortened so it die exactly when it fires. The projectile has a missile animation, which I will eventually change to a blank model (so you wont see it). But overall, everything works just as I wanted it to, which the minor thing that health and veterancy is not transferred to the new unit. So a little fine tuning and this should be perfect.

As a side note, this method can have more uses than just teleportation. By having the projectile be the model of the unit, you can make units that jump, which I plan to do on units like the sickle.


chronotankz.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  134 KB
 Viewed:  6014 Time(s)

chronotankz.jpg



_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dutchygamer
President


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Location: Dordrecht, the Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Woah, that EMP spheroid looks so great with it. Just like from the screenies #Tongue
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Destiny
President


Joined: 02 May 2006
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow dude...it looks like it really chrono'd #Tongue
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
Orac
President


Joined: 11 Jul 2008
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, you'll be using an invisible projectile?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaFool
Defense Minister


Joined: 07 Nov 2006

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thinking about it and looking going over some code with -The Light-, I have determined that this method can be improved up by 2 parts. One is that three clones of the chrono tank can be created, and each one has the module "VeterancyGainCreate" and each clone is dedicated to one of the veterancies (Veteran, Elite, and Heroic). Then the chrono tank will have a weapon set upgrade triggered by getting promoted/gaining veterancy and the new weapon will spawnthe clone of the chrono of the corresponding veterancy. Same can ofcourse be applied to jumping units.
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JJ_
Light Infantry


Joined: 12 Sep 2008

PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, that's kinda obvious, funny it didn't cross my mind. D:

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dutchygamer
President


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Location: Dordrecht, the Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You still regain health when teleporting Neutral Next week I have a week off, and I will take a look at the Bike logic then (which should fix morphing vehicles and chronotank bugs)...
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Dutchygamer
President


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Location: Dordrecht, the Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update! I have good news: my work with Rider logic has been successful! We now have morfing mechs, and a Chrono Tank that works perfectly! No more trouble with regaining health or losing veterancy Smile
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
OmegaBolt
President


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shocked
_________________
TAK02 wrote:
Screw AttachEffect. Can't think of any use for it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [27 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Other Projects » Released » Invasion Confirmed » Research
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.2545s ][ Queries: 17 (0.0189s) ][ Debug on ]