:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Thu Apr 18, 2019 10:41 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Other Games Modding
OpenRA modding?
Moderators: Global Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [24 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic

How interested are you in modding OpenRA?
A lot
41%
 41%  [ 12 ]
Medium-interest
20%
 20%  [ 6 ]
Little interest
24%
 24%  [ 7 ]
0 interest
13%
 13%  [ 4 ]
Total Votes : 29

Author Message
Deformat
Defense Minister


Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Location: Bucharest,Romania Posts:29240348568

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 6:44 pm    Post subject:  OpenRA modding? Reply with quote

As title says, I'm curious how many people would get into modding OpenRA.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Revolutionary
Commander


Joined: 19 May 2008
Location: Scotland, starting a Revolution Cameo: metricon. Posts:???

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a lot of interest, mainly because it would be possible to create large changes which are impossible in any CnC
_________________
Creator of TS:BoB and some other things that might be good when finnished.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
SMIFFGIG
General


Joined: 03 Mar 2003
Location: Great Britain

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd like to be able to play one full game of the unmodded game without it crashing before i'd even consider modding or playing mods
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
MT
General


Joined: 23 Jun 2008
Location: Wandering Time

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Meh, I'm more likely to go learn Fallout New Vegas or Supreme Commander modding than I would OpenRA. CNC Related I'm fine with Ares for now.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roaches
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Location: Modding other games.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Definitely will! Been wanting to mod the classics without any hard limitations, of course when the engine matures overtime that way I can deal less with major bugs.
_________________

Quote:
Everybody knows a mod that doesn't update every ten seconds is dead.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gamefreak11221
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Location: Philippines

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2011 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guys, where can i get the openRA?

I have RA but its for online play only and doesn't support mods
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger Account
raminator
Commander


Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Location: Bierkasten

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2011 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://openra.res0l.net/
_________________

just a simple logo by bricks @ raminator, on Flickr

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Katz
Disk Thrower


Joined: 01 Sep 2007
Location: Russia, Katzburg

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Little teaser for new OpenRA mod

1st image is in editor tileset test
2nd image is PS prototype


test_scene2.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  866.99 KB
 Viewed:  10747 Time(s)

test_scene2.png



test_scene.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  450.41 KB
 Viewed:  10748 Time(s)

test_scene.png



_________________
Everything not saved will be lost. :3

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
raminator
Commander


Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Location: Bierkasten

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that´s looking extremely pod =)
some questions:
-are those terrain-tiles isometric like in ra2/ts or did you some fake iso stuff...
-how do those ramps work if your units are shps?
_________________

just a simple logo by bricks @ raminator, on Flickr

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Katz
Disk Thrower


Joined: 01 Sep 2007
Location: Russia, Katzburg

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1 - yeah, that is fake iso like in starcraft
2 - ramps works like bridges
_________________
Everything not saved will be lost. :3

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
OmegaBolt
President


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The test scene looks amazing... really liking that alien shit too.
_________________
TAK02 wrote:
Screw AttachEffect. Can't think of any use for it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Nikademis Von Hisson
General


Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Location: Wilkes Barre PA

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2011 1:02 am    Post subject: ra Reply with quote

the clifffs look nice....
_________________
I am authorized to send out the TMP Studio, PM ME IF YOU WANT IT And check this out, these were sent to me for help with terrain and zdata help along with TMP Studio/Builder

http://www.ppmsite.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=27714

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Orac
President


Joined: 11 Jul 2008
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2011 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That artwork reminds me of Die verbotene Welt more than a little. Cool stuff.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Holy_Master
Commander


Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Location: Thailand

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2011 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it look amazing! i wish i have terrain making skill like that.

i also interesting to make mod on openra but i waiting until they solve many problem that i can't stand with. [like game speed for example]

katz if you not mind can you show me an example of cliff graphic tile you make? because i want to know how you make it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
hotrods20
Commander


Joined: 27 Jul 2009

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2011 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would be willing to jump on that bandwagon. Looks like a good idea.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deformat
Defense Minister


Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Location: Bucharest,Romania Posts:29240348568

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2011 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Holy_Master wrote:
it look amazing! i wish i have terrain making skill like that.

i also interesting to make mod on openra but i waiting until they solve many problem that i can't stand with. [like game speed for example]

katz if you not mind can you show me an example of cliff graphic tile you
make? because i want to know how you make it.


Exactly the same thing.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aro
Alcohol Fueled


Joined: 10 Sep 2006
Location: Birmingham, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2011 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Holy shit...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gangster
Commander


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
katz if you not mind can you show me an example of cliff graphic tile you
make? because i want to know how you make it.


I am not a Katz, but i can answer this one.


tilesetbuilder01.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  109.26 KB
 Viewed:  10551 Time(s)

tilesetbuilder01.jpg



_________________

Work is much like a wife. It feed me. It f*ck me.
Gangster is a Project Perfect Wuj (c)Aro

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Holy_Master
Commander


Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Location: Thailand

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank alot gangster.

but if he make cliff tile like that, it possible to allow unit move over clear part terrain on cliff tile?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Nyerguds
General


Joined: 24 May 2004
Location: Flanders (Be) Posts:300000001

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well the tile size doesn't have to be a full impassable block, does it?

Not sure how OpenRA handles tiles, but I'd imagine there being some tile passability / terrain type separation rules
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
OmegaBolt
President


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2011 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Either way I wouldn't think such tall isometric tiles could work right, as units wouldn't be able to pass beneath the taller cliffs. The ones in the mockup look preferable.
_________________
TAK02 wrote:
Screw AttachEffect. Can't think of any use for it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Pepzi
Plasma Trooper


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2011 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Katz wrote:
Little teaser for new OpenRA mod

1st image is in editor tileset test
2nd image is PS prototype


Very cool!

Btw, that alien construct/object reminds me of:

http://www.cnc-source.com/forums/index.php?app=gallery&module=images&section=viewimage&img=4833

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nyerguds
General


Joined: 24 May 2004
Location: Flanders (Be) Posts:300000001

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OmegaBolt wrote:
Either way I wouldn't think such tall isometric tiles could work right, as units wouldn't be able to pass beneath the taller cliffs. The ones in the mockup look preferable.

They couldn't do that in starcraft either. No one minded that little detail.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
OmegaBolt
President


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cliffs weren't as tall in Starcraft though, more like the ones in the mockup like I said.
_________________
TAK02 wrote:
Screw AttachEffect. Can't think of any use for it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [24 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Other Games Modding
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
Quick Reply
Username:


If you are visually impaired or cannot otherwise answer the challenges below please contact the Administrator for help.


Write only one of the following words: Brotherhood, unity, peace! 

 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1883s ][ Queries: 18 (0.0367s) ][ Debug on ]