:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:54 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum » Tutorials Factory
Veterancy (*)
Moderators: Global Moderators, Tiberian Sun Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Allied General
General


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:00 pm    Post subject:   Veterancy (*) Reply with quote

Ok posting this tutorial as I normally mod RA2 where Veterancy is relatively simple.

The bonuses in RA2 are a direct multiplier bonus to a units attributes for example  VeteranCombat=1.5 would increases a units firepower value by 50%

However in TS this system is different[/b]

VeteranCombat=.25      
VeteranSpeed=.30        
VeteranSight=0.0        
VeteranArmor=.25    
VeteranROF=.20      
VeteranCap=2        
InitialVeteran=no
   

VeteranSpeed=.30 is like  30% of original Speed + original Speed

So a value of 1.5 is like 150% of original Speed + original Speed unlike in RA2 where its a simple +50% bonus to Speed.

The exception is VeteranArmor=which in  TS, is a multiplier to incoming Damage so VeteranArmor=.25 would mean  damage x 0.25. This is why the armor crate makes units weaker in Tiberian Sun by default unlike RA2 where VeteranArmor=1.25 is a direct 25% bonus to Strength.

Finally bonuses do not STACK e.g.

VeteranAbilities=STRONGER
EliteAbilities=STRONGER

The unit would only gain the armor bonus modifier once e.g. in the above example it will not gain another STRONGER bonus at Elite status.

Key Words: #Tutorials #Modding #TiberianSun #Firestorm #Rules.INI 

_________________

Last edited by Allied General on Fri Jul 29, 2011 7:56 pm; edited 3 times in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kcirevam
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 15 Jun 2011
Location: "Where do you want setup?".

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
VeteranAbilities=STRONGER
EliteAbilities=STRONGER


Then what happens if you don't declare "STRONGER" in EliteAbilities= ?, does the unit lose the bonus or just nothing?.
_________________
Also known as superluigi949 and SuperMario949.
Banned for pretending to be someone else.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Starkku
Tiberian Beast


Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kcirevam wrote:
Quote:
VeteranAbilities=STRONGER
EliteAbilities=STRONGER


Then what happens if you don't declare "STRONGER" in EliteAbilities= ?, does the unit lose the bonus or just nothing?.


To clarify, what the original post tries to say is, that only first declared bonus will be applied, which in this case is VeteranAbilities=STRONGER. STRONGER declared in EliteAbilities is thus discarded.

So the bonuses won't stack, and additionally there is no way to remove veteran level bonuses at elite level.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Twitter Channel URL
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. remove the bold text
2.
Allied General wrote:
The bonuses in RA2 are a direct multiplier bonus to a units attributes for example VeteranCombat=1.5 would increases a units speed value by 50%
VeteranCombat is a firepower multiplier, not speed.
3.
Allied General wrote:
The exception is VeteranArmor=which in TS, is a multiplier to incoming Damage so VeteranArmor=.25 would mean damage x 0.25.
There's nothing different to the way how the other bonuses are calculated. It's also original Armor + 25% of original armor. A value of 0 doesn't mean the enemy damage is 0 and thus the unit invincible.
It also works different to the armor powerup and the reference to the powerup from the veteran armor is simply wrong, as they both work different.
VeteranArmor=UnitArmor+ UnitArmor*x ;x is the specified value
Powerup Armor=UnitArmor/x

The only real exception is VeteranSight.
VeteranSight=Round(UnitSightRange*x) ;x is the specified value
The sight can't go beyond 10 and it also can't be reduced under the original value. Thus a value lower than 1 has no effect.
A unit with Sight=10 won't get any bonus too.
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Allied General
General


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the clarification I'm just use to this being a lot easier to understand in RA2.

My statement about ARMOR came from

http://modenc.renegadeprojects.com/Powerups

So you are saying ARMOR is still a strength bonus in TS? (if so that article needs amendment)

Also yes I know firepower is firepower not speed (I made a editing mistake amended)

Also in RA2 it should be noted that Sight > 10 from veterancy causes a IE.

Finally

[Powerups] Unit does not accept a animation (tested in TS/RA2)
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dutchygamer
President


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Location: Dordrecht, the Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a major difference between the extras units can get with veterancy, and the upgrades units can get from Crate goodies. The Armor bug is only for Crate goodies, not for normal veterancy extras.
_________________
Please, read the signature rules of the forum.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Skype Account
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum » Tutorials Factory
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1251s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0174s) ][ Debug on ]