:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Sat Nov 18, 2017 5:52 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum » HyperPatch
Queue Move Discussion
Moderators: Global Moderators, HyperPatch Moderators, CCHyper
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [16 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Astor
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 4:16 am    Post subject:   Queue Move Discussion Reply with quote

I am not sure if someone posted this already...

But it would be nice to make units with turrets fire while moving like in RA2, this would also fix harvesters not fireing their weapons automatic (I think).
The tag NoMovingFire is useless because of that.

What about the tag in RA2 which allows the AI to protect buildings with a wall?

Another big wish would be 3rd & 4th weapons, if I remember right this was possible with ETS?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bittah Commander
Defense Minister


Joined: 21 May 2003
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like you don't know how to Q-move your units...
Select any unit with a turret, make it attack anything (or make it force-fire on the ground), then hold Q and click anywhere on the ground to give it a move order. Your unit will now moving to the location you clicked while still attacking its target.

In RA2 this happens automatically and I personally don't think this is a good thing. If it doesn't happen automatically it simply means that players that pay attention to their units will have an advantage over players that don't and that's exactly the way it should be.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Astor
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bittah Commander wrote:
Sounds like you don't know how to Q-move your units...
Select any unit with a turret, make it attack anything (or make it force-fire on the ground), then hold Q and click anywhere on the ground to give it a move order. Your unit will now moving to the location you clicked while still attacking its target.

In RA2 this happens automatically and I personally don't think this is a good thing. If it doesn't happen automatically it simply means that players that pay attention to their units will have an advantage over players that don't and that's exactly the way it should be.


Wait....what!!! Surprised  I play this game since my childhood and never discoverd or heared about it!? OMG thanks!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Graion Dilach
Defense Minister


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Location: Iszkaszentgyörgy, Hungary

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bittah Commander wrote:
In RA2 this happens automatically and I personally don't think this is a good thing. If it doesn't happen automatically it simply means that players that pay attention to their units will have an advantage over players that don't and that's exactly the way it should be.


Wrong, that depends on OpportunityFire.
_________________



AS Discord server: https://discord.gg/7aM7Hm2

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
^Rampastein
Rampastring


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Graion Dilach wrote:
Wrong, that depends on OpportunityFire.

IIRC RA2 doesn't offer the same "Q-Move" (firing while moving) for units with OpportunityFire disabled though. I find Q-Move better than units firing automatically because with Q-Move I'm able to manually select my units' target, while with OpportunityFire I can't for example order the units to focus their fire on a single target while moving. So, the TS system is better for players who like micromanaging.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OmegaBolt
President


Joined: 21 Mar 2005
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nah, AFAIK you can still Q-move, hence Magnetron abuse...
_________________
TAK02 wrote:
Screw AttachEffect. Can't think of any use for it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Graion Dilach
Defense Minister


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Location: Iszkaszentgyörgy, Hungary

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, so I mixed two things. Never heard of this Q-move.
_________________



AS Discord server: https://discord.gg/7aM7Hm2

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
MasterHaosis
Commander


Joined: 01 Nov 2010

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did not hear of that too!
OmegaBolt, wait, what can you do with Magnetron?
_________________
OrangeNero wrote:
Me picking a fight? I know I am the greatest user alive here so everyone starts reading topics with my posts first and ignores the ones before and after.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fire the magnetron, lift the enemy unit, then q-move the magnetron away, so the enemy unit is constantly following the magnetron.
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection. Main Nod building SHP creator.

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant unit, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
TMP Shop
C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zero18
Commander


Joined: 10 Dec 2012
Location: I'm too busy conquering the world!

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It can be fixed by giving magnetron the inability to move around while fire. If they want to fire, they have to stop first. Its easy to solve that abuse.
_________________
Mod Leader and founder of World Domination


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasterHaosis
Commander


Joined: 01 Nov 2010

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lin Kuei Ominae wrote:
fire the magnetron, lift the enemy unit, then q-move the magnetron away, so the enemy unit is constantly following the magnetron.


Yes, as Zero18 said. Just made him unable to fire on move and problem is solved.
Also, its actually one Magnetron vs your one unit, in most case he will lift cheaper unit, such as IFV/Flack Track or main tanks.

I am more concerned about AI radiply lifting in air your units. Its because Westwood (accidentally) left magnetron's ROF to 20 only! its same as machine gun, although it should be set to 100, as him shake weapon for building and any other artillery. That will prevent AI magnetrons radiply lifting your units around.
basically he brings one unit in air, then start lifting second unit, first one starts to falling on ground then he brings first tank again, when second is falling he brings second unit too, and in same time often AI can do things what we can't do. That is even more common because AI attacks last unit which attacked. So when few units attack AI's Magnetron, he will retaliate to last unit attacking it, meaning that he is capable lifting 2-3 units in aur until it got destroyed finally.

Hey Lin Kuei Ominae, I did not know that you are expert at YR! Very Happy
I did not know for that trick for example.
_________________
OrangeNero wrote:
Me picking a fight? I know I am the greatest user alive here so everyone starts reading topics with my posts first and ignores the ones before and after.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zero18
Commander


Joined: 10 Dec 2012
Location: I'm too busy conquering the world!

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Look at Distruptor for example in TS. If you put disruptor near a structure and start attacking it. Then you tell it to move away with q-move. It will continue to attack until it is out of range. Applies to all vehicles that have movable turrets.

However, the problem with sonic tag, is that it will continue to fire regardless of range the unit is in. It will stop firing when it complete its attack.
_________________
Mod Leader and founder of World Domination


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MasterHaosis wrote:
Hey Lin Kuei Ominae, I did not know that you are expert at YR! Very Happy

I'm not, but q-move is the base for every good micromanagement

@Zero18: the disruptors max range is 8.5. The effect for the sonic beam is restricted to this range and for anything longer the logic isn't working and the weapon not fired.
Thus all fired beams also stop firing when they reach this range.

\Topic splitted as this doesn't belongs to suggestions and bugs.
Not sure where to move it though, since this is neither TS nor RA2 specific modding. It's basic game knowledge and reading the possible keybord shortcuts in the options menu.

@Astor: i took your topic with the split, as pretty much all things you asked for (Buildings protected with wall, 3rd 4th weapon), have been asked already
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection. Main Nod building SHP creator.

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant unit, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
TMP Shop
C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OrangeNero
Commander


Joined: 11 Jan 2012

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A similar fire on the move unit behavior is this. With minimum range the unit will keep the distance while the turret fires at the target. A fast turreted hover vehicle with a long range and slightly smaller minimum range works sort of well for that tough the unit isn't controlled into which direction it will evade.
_________________
Free Tibed!
EA for worst company of the decade!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaRTzO
Laser Commando


Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Location: Country Swing

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

^Rampastein wrote:
Graion Dilach wrote:
Wrong, that depends on OpportunityFire.

IIRC RA2 doesn't offer the same "Q-Move" (firing while moving) for units with OpportunityFire disabled though.


Select a unit group. EG: Mirage tanks. Hold CTRL + SHIFT + click move. Cursor will change and units attack moving will do same as Q-Move. You can even abuse CTRL + SHIFT to get units like IFV's and Flak Tracks to shoot while moving by spamming the move click.

The magnetron abuse is done the same way.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luxycomplex
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 03 Nov 2012

PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 1:28 pm    Post subject: TS use Ctrl+Alt Reply with quote

Firing along the way while moving in TS can be performed by using Ctrl+Alt keys then left_click to destined point...
Ordered forces will go to destined point for area guard and at the same time will check and attack any foe along the way..

The cursor will shows two symbol: guard_mode+fire_at_target_mode
I (and of course many other) have been using this method for years..

This posting is for ignorance..newbie?..or whatever. Sorry..

Recent check results: the same theme already posted since 2006..

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [16 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum » HyperPatch
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1563s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0339s) ][ Debug on ]