:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Fri Apr 19, 2019 10:59 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum » Tutorials Factory
Alternative Method for Cameo's without PaintShop Pro
Moderators: Global Moderators, Tiberian Sun Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [16 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
G10N89TS
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 3:48 pm    Post subject:  Alternative Method for Cameo's without PaintShop Pro Reply with quote

Creator:  G10N89TS (If any one else have used this method before I didn't know, I found while I was testing ways to get rid of the palette problem)

Difficulty: Very easy

This is actually very easy. This is how it goes. You require:

XCC MIXER, TIBERIAN SUN and WINDOWS PAINT

1.  Use XCC Mixer to open up the TIBSUN Mix file. Then find any cameo that looks good with the cameo palette on.

2   Extract it as a PCX to any directory.

3   Make the cameo you want using paint. Paint is easy since you can paste any graphical file in it. Save it as .BMP

4   Open up the exicting Cameo that was extracted in #2

5   It will probally look up very huge, but that isn't important. Make sure it is in the subprogram in which you can copy parts of it.

6   Click File > Open. Then select the .BMP in which you have the Bitmap icon stored.

7   Save it as a TIFF Document (.tif)

8   Exit the program.

9   Go to XCC Mixer and go to the file.

10  Right click the file and go to Clipboard. Then select the option Paste as SHP (TS).

Now you have a correct cameo using Bitmap and with no pallette problems if you have selct an cameo like buggyicon.shp

Key Words: #Tutorials #Cameos #SHPs #Media #TiberianSun #Firestorm #XCCUtilities #Paint.NET 

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account Yahoo Messenger Account
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

or use the next BS SHP Builder Wink

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
W/P
Commander


Joined: 09 Nov 2003
Location: Newcastle, England

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

will this work with infantry as well? Confused
_________________
That acting was so bad I think you gave me Cancer...

ENGLAND 2006!!! HAWAY THE LADS!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

his method with infantry would be a pain in the ass, since you would need to convert every frame to a different SHP. Then, extract all shps (about 600) as pcx. Then, you rename all of them (ordering them) and convert as SHP (TS) again...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
W/P
Commander


Joined: 09 Nov 2003
Location: Newcastle, England

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok so wait for your shp thing then?
_________________
That acting was so bad I think you gave me Cancer...

ENGLAND 2006!!! HAWAY THE LADS!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wait... it wont take long to be released and it will be worth the wait Wink

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
G10N89TS
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Banshee. That program you are building, will it be easier in use then let's say Will's SHP Builder?? By the way, the way with paint is the way i'm using for the radar frames. I will post some screenies of it soon. If it works proporly

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account Yahoo Messenger Account
#The fREaK!
AA Infantry


Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is similar to Will's SHP Editor, but does not screw up the shps.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

...and has inumerous more features. We've recently released the 2.0. Check it out!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
stucuk
Geek


Joined: 27 Aug 2002

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its not "like wills", its different in look and features, only things in common is they both edit SHP files, tho our one can create and edit SHP files, has LOTS more tools for drawing, etc. has a nice preview, has spinedits for the frame thing so you can enter the frame numebr or press the 2 arrows.

If it was like Wills it would only open SHP files to edit.
_________________
Free Map Editor - Game Requirements - Stucuk.Net

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
G10N89TS
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've tried your program and it rocks. It has a good interface and is easy in use. You can even make the radar animation through paint and then using your program makes it a shp without palette problems. I have used the program for the GMF radar animation. Remember the sidebar editing research banshee? I am putting it to work now and as soon as I can test the new sidebar will make screenies and post them on PPM. If you wanna look at the radar animation go to the CnC Chat and then the radar animation post of me. Your program ROCKS!!!! It can be used by this method also. You do to the point of saving as tiff. As you simply paste them in your program and save it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account Yahoo Messenger Account
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot, dude Smile. You can always help us to make it become even better by posting positive feddback like that in CnC Editing Tools forum, in a sticky topic there about BS SHP Builder Wink.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
G10N89TS
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, there is something that might help you. When I got it downloaded and installed I didn't realy knew why the colors, if you directly paste it in, are different. But through PCX it is okay. So perhaps you can put a kind of help file in it. Cause when let's say a Noob uses it, he doesn't know what is for what. So when he reads through the readme he understands it. That might be helpfull. But for the rest I haven't found any problems. It just took me about ten minutes to find out that the BMP's need to go though the PCX program.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account Yahoo Messenger Account
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm... I'm gonna post some tutorials on this program soon, don't worry. Help file is something to be included later..

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
G10N89TS
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, btw: do you know why TS uses one pallette for Nod sidebar and another for the GDI sidebar? The different pallette's almost only consern the radar animation? Then why make two different pallette's?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account Yahoo Messenger Account
#The fREaK!
AA Infantry


Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To make it possible to use all these Nod and GDI colors using an 8-bit pallet, I guess...
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [16 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Tiberian Sun Editing Forum » Tutorials Factory
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1852s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0595s) ][ Debug on ]