:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Fri Apr 20, 2018 6:51 am
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Featured Tools » OS SHP Builder » Suggestions
keep chosen palette
Moderators: stucuk
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [20 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:22 am    Post subject:   keep chosen palette Reply with quote

I open an SHP, then select the palette.
If i open another SHP, the palette changes for this new SHP back to the default unittem.pal.

When modding you usually keep working with the same palette, so it would be very convenient if i don't have to select the palette every single time i open an SHP.

It could imo even store the last used palette in an ini and load it by default next time i open shp builder.
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zaaz
Disk Thrower


Joined: 21 Apr 2013
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 1:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree, it's a task that's unnecessarily time-consuming.

I was also thinking about transforming the label displaying the palette filename in a combobox or a mini menu
from which you can select your palette. That would remove 1 or 2 clicks.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 3:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The program was designed to guess what kind of SHP file you are trying to edit and, consequently, the palette to use (according to the ones set in the Preferences). Maybe I could add a quick option (under Optons) to allow it to just use the previous SHP Type and Palette.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The "guessing" can't really work, as there are anim.pal, iso*.pal and unit*.pal very frequently used for SHPs and there is no way to tell only by looking at the SHP which palette this uses (nor the game of the SHP). So the "guessing" can be only wrong imo. And now with mods using their own palettes (with Ares even for single objects) this can't work anymore.
When the modding community was young and user usually only took the original files and changed them a bit, it might have worked, but not today.

Maybe you can even change it so it works like my TMPShop when looking for palettes.
This simply looks in the Palettes folder (if present) and adds for each Subfolder a submenu and palette files as menuitems accordingly to each submenu.
(e.g. i would remove RA1, RA2, YR folders and palettes since i never use them and instead rather see my folders TI and DTA)

I usually only mod TI and DTA, both have folders in the Palettes folder, but don't appear in the editor because it only has TD,TS,RA1,RA2,YR and User hardcoded.
And the single "User" folder isn't really useful when you have multiple mods.

Last edited by Lin Kuei Ominae on Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:15 am; edited 1 time in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Graion Dilach
Defense Minister


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Location: Iszkaszentgyörgy, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then do it like I do, move all the TS-YR pals to RA1 or YR, put TI into RA2, and put DTA into TS. #Tongue

Because I'm overusing Ares's custompals a lot, I don't really have a subfolder within that palettes menu where only the originals are there. xD TD ended up being a buildingspal container, RA1 ended up Apollo's animpals, TS got the RA1 pals next to the default, and some variations of it's own anim.pal, RA2 has YR pals and variations of it's own anim.pal and YR ended up yet another bunch of Apollo's palettes.
_________________



AS Discord server: https://discord.gg/7aM7Hm2

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That works, but i find that a rather confusing/inconvenient solution. I like it more "userfriendly" where i can adjust the program to my needs and not vice versa Smile
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Graion Dilach
Defense Minister


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Location: Iszkaszentgyörgy, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't say it's the most logical solution neither but this is still more friendlier than how XCC Mixer's palettes are set up.
_________________



AS Discord server: https://discord.gg/7aM7Hm2

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

XCC Mixer is ok, since it can be easyly changed to suit my needs.
e.g. since i have no games "installed" (no registry crap) but only on the hdd, the mixer can't find any palettes. Thus i created a custom mix file with all palettes inside in submixes. In the settings i set the default TD path to this mix so Mixer can find it.

now i have all palettes in a nicely sorted way available in the Mixer.

The bottom infobar now also shows in a nice short way, which game and palette i'm using, because the submixes are named according to the name of the game.


mixerpals.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  24.32 KB
 Viewed:  2712 Time(s)

mixerpals.png



_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Last edited by Lin Kuei Ominae on Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:39 am; edited 1 time in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Graion Dilach
Defense Minister


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Location: Iszkaszentgyörgy, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wouldn't call remixing every time when I decide to use a new palette better at all.
_________________



AS Discord server: https://discord.gg/7aM7Hm2

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well yeah, if you use for every new SHP a custom palette, this system doesn't works well anymore. But having custom pals for every single SHP quite contradicts the whole logic behind using palettes in the first place (you know, saving space for the colors stored in each picture and instead use only a single palette to which all pictures refer to)

In cases like TI and DTA, the pals haven't changed for months/years and i only added 2 or 3 new ones which i use for conversion (palettes which have remap red replaced with a purple gradient, glowing colors removed etc)
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Graion Dilach
Defense Minister


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Location: Iszkaszentgyörgy, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know, recently I started going with using a pack of SHPs sharing a palette then hue/brightness/colorshifting said palette, and with that, I can simply just use Image along with the old SHPs.

I would duplicate the pal first, that's smaller. #Tongue
_________________



AS Discord server: https://discord.gg/7aM7Hm2

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Revision 33 should include this feature, although I've only implemented it for the File -> Open. I admit I need to add it for File -> New and maybe cameo generator and few others. I'm not sure if I'll make it for cameo generator, import and other features.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2013 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The latest SVN version is only 3.37 Beta 16. Where can i get Beta 33? (assuming that "Revision 33" is the same as 3.37 Beta 33)
Also, using the latest SHP Builder, i randomly get the attached error message when i start it.
If i click "ok", the program starts just fine anyway. Next time i start the exe, the error is sometimes gone sometimes it appears again.


SHPBuilderError.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  4.76 KB
 Viewed:  2634 Time(s)

SHPBuilderError.png



_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2013 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Errr.. revision number and beta identification are different things.

Revision number is related to the number of committs done in the SVN.

The beta number is decided by me and it increases everytime there is a feature that will somehow affect the user in a considerable way.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2014 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

got the latest version 338beta6
The palette is still always reset. Sad

-File->Open test.shp
-Palette->Load: SHPBuilder\Palettes\TI\isotem.pal
-next loaded SHP has TS isotem.pal again
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2014 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you disabled Options -> Auto Select SHP Type?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2014 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

of course not Embarassed silly me
thanks, it works fine now. Smile


on a different note:
the pasted area is 1 pixel in width/height smaller than the copied one. Just constantly ctrl+c, ctrl+v and you see how the pasted area gets smaller on each copy/paste cycle.

another thing:
i'm using a laptop with only max 768 pixel height. SHP builder starts by default with exactly that height (or a little bigger) and thus parts are behind the taskbar.
So the first steps i always have to do is to make the window smaller and move the area behind the taskbar up.
Would be nice if SHP builder takes the "working space" (in c# Screen.WorkingArea) and not the "desktop space". Not sure if Delphi has these different areas as public constants available like .NET.
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2014 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll see what I can do, although I must admit that SHP Builder's priority is low at the moment (I'm desperate with my thesis).

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2014 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't worry. There's no hurry. Both are no big issues.
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin Kuei Ominae
Seth


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AutoSelect SHP Type is off, yet it now resets the palette again. Confused

These are the steps i did, iirc
-opened file fonae07.tem (It's an SHP with .tem extension)
-loaded palette SHPBuilder\Palettes\TI\isotemConvert.pal
-created with Pal Editor new palette isotemConvert2.pal
-closed file fonae07.tem
-opened file fonae08.tem
-loaded palette SHPBuilder\Palettes\TI\isotemConvert2.pal
-did a few PNG imports from clipboard
-loaded palette SHPBuilder\Palettes\TI\isotemConvert.pal
-deleted isotemConvert2.pal
-opened file fonae02.tem and got message "isotemConvert2.pal couldn't be found"
-got that missing pal message now every time i opened an SHP

restarted SHP Builder
-now even with "AutoSelect SHP Type" off it always resets to default unittem.pal


I think it somehow got confused when i loaded and switched between different palettes and also removed one of them.
_________________
SHP Artist of Twisted Insurrection:  Nod buildings

Public SHPs
X-Mech Calendar (28 Mechs for GDI and Nod)
5 GDI, 5 Nod, 1 Mutant, 1 Scrin unit, 1 GDI building

Tools
Image Shaper______TMP Shop______C&C Executable Modifier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [20 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Featured Tools » OS SHP Builder » Suggestions
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
Quick Reply
Username:


If you are visually impaired or cannot otherwise answer the challenges below please contact the Administrator for help.


Write only one of the following words: Brotherhood, unity, peace! 

 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.2372s ][ Queries: 16 (0.0826s) ][ Debug on ]