:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Wed Nov 21, 2018 12:04 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Ares (Unofficial Forum)
a surgestion
Moderators: Ares Support Team at PPM, Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [16 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Algerian Major
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 07 Mar 2015
Location: Drinking Vodka with Lenin, Stalin and Putin

PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2015 3:46 pm    Post subject:  a surgestion
Subject description: any surgestion can be here
Reply with quote

Hi there i was wondering if you can add this feature:
     -damaged units:units when damaged (we set the health) transform into another unit(just to make the coding easy) so it will change the art and many things(for example a damaged tank will be unable to move or fire its main weapon and it will have a art of a damaged tank)

     -Hulks:as in Generals
     -Upgrades:buildings with 0*0 fondation as in D-DAY will be automaticly deployed in the battlefield (no need to click on the field when its ready)
     -Upgrades Logic:as in Generals upgrading a units health,firepower, armor or upgrading it into another unit

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
4StarGeneral
Commander


Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Location: Constant Flux

PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2015 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2/3 are the same as Unit-to-Unit transformation that's been long suggested for Ares or can be done with AttachEffect. As far as autodeploying, I don't think that's possible as you still need to place it, either using an AI control or otherwise and deploying it onto a buildingtype would probably require many tags to get it to deploy to the right building not to mention if you have multiples of the same building...
_________________
"Don't beg for things; Do it yourself or you'll never get anything."
Lin Kuei Ominae wrote:
wrong forum. this is not minecraft.


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
PillBox20
Commander


Joined: 28 Sep 2013
Location: Plovdiv, Bulgaria.

PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2015 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some time ago I suggested something different to AlexB on PM.
Units should get darker the more damage they take.
About the desabling of the main gun.... meh (welcome to company of heroes! ). Laughing
_________________
"If it ain't broke, don't fix it."
"If you are loyal to everybody, can you truly be loyal to anybody?"
Ares Documentation: http://ares-developers.github.io/Ares-docs/
My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCtxeQoEM_iVd-F-xUIwleyQ
PillBox20's Red Alert 2 Mod: http://www.moddb.com/mods/pillbox20s-red-alert-2/downloads/pillbox20s-red-alert-2-version-02

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website YouTube User URL Skype Account
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2015 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can use negative AttachEffect to simulate battle damaged to units. For example in D-day if an artillery gets a direct hit on a tank it will stop it for a short time by using AttachEffect.SpeedMultiplier=0.0.

You could also use this to make units slower &/or weaker over time by using 0.9 & AttachEffect.Cumulative.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Algerian Major
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 07 Mar 2015
Location: Drinking Vodka with Lenin, Stalin and Putin

PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2015 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you know i relly didn't geted the "Attach"thing from the manual some explanation will be great

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Millennium
Commander


Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Location: Osaka (JP)/Hong Kong/Germany

PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2015 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree something like the ACTOR-CONDITION system from Gen/ZH would be nice - like, say, having Condition: HP < 25%, Apply Status: AttachEffect.SpeedMultiplier=0.5
But that is very illusory for the YR engine I think.
I recon the best you can expect to get from Ares would be an "Apply AE only below x% health" thing for warheads.

(and I also still think the *ideal* way of handling it would be having different thresholds/health-counters for different effects, so you could take seperate HP Damage, Speed Damage, Armor Damage, Psychic Damage, EMP Damage, KillDriver Damage and so on...).
_________________
The Jaunt wrote:

It's eternity in there...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
General


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2015 1:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What if the effect was to reverse veterancy? The traits you gain as a veteran or elite get taken away...

Seems like a more easily implemented automated solution?
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Millennium
Commander


Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Location: Osaka (JP)/Hong Kong/Germany

PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2015 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, the right AttachEffect settings already do that... say VeteranAbilities is FIREPOWER and that bonus is defined as 1.25, then you get hit by an AE with FirepowerMultiplier=.8, it will return your firepower to baseline.
_________________
The Jaunt wrote:

It's eternity in there...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Millennium
Commander


Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Location: Osaka (JP)/Hong Kong/Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2015 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have another suggestion:
Something that allows certain structures to be placed next to certain other structures only.
For example, I want to make a base expansion node:
Code:

[GAEXPA]
Name=Allied Base Expander
BaseNormal=yes
EligibleAdjacentBuildings=GAPILE ; defaults to all


would mean I would be able to place barracks next to the expander, but nothing else.
Alternatively, you could make it a tag on the building you want to place:
Code:

[GAPILE]
Adjacent=
PlaceNextTo=GAEXPA
PlaceNextToExplicitOnly=y/n


second tag would prevent it from being built near any structure that is not explicitly mentioned in PlaceNextTo.
_________________
The Jaunt wrote:

It's eternity in there...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
General


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2015 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess you don't care about the AI?
_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Millennium
Commander


Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Location: Osaka (JP)/Hong Kong/Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2015 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would this be very hard to code into the AI?
Come to think, the AI ignores things like deployable base expansion nodes anyway, and building defenses near oil derricks. If push comes to shove, the AI might just be coded to ignore it.

Of course, if you set it on normal base structures, it would be quite messy. But on structures that are ignored by AI anyways when it gets to base-building, I see no issue.

And another buildings-related suggestion:
Allowing AIBasePlanningSide to take a list, rather than an integer. That way, we can have buildings that are shared by multiple sides and still get sorted properly. For example, to avoid having to make a seperate Pavement for each side, when they are really identical.
_________________
The Jaunt wrote:

It's eternity in there...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mevitar
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 31 Dec 2010

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2015 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want to post feature requests, use this.
https://blueprints.launchpad.net/ares

Nobody will look around every forum in search for feature requests (especially if you keep making multiple unrelated suggestions in one randomly named thread).

As for Millennium's request, if you want to have "shared" structures, create structure clones. "Sharing" structures and units is something that's already possible using existing Ares features, there's no need to expand AIBasePlanningSide into a list.

Last edited by mevitar on Wed May 20, 2015 12:14 pm; edited 3 times in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Algerian Major
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 07 Mar 2015
Location: Drinking Vodka with Lenin, Stalin and Putin

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2015 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and how about the attach thing is it possible to have a Unit+invisible building =mobile factory

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mevitar
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 31 Dec 2010

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2015 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Attach Effect is unrelated to attaching units. Mig Eater already explained how it works.

It's all in the manual, you know. Wink

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Millennium
Commander


Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Location: Osaka (JP)/Hong Kong/Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2015 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mevitar wrote:

As for Millennium's request, if you want to have "shared" structures, create structure clones. "Sharing" structures and units is something that's already possible using existing Ares features, there's no need to expand AIBasePlanningSide into a list.


But we got FactoryOwners for just that reason of having shared production facilities >< now we can't sort them properly and would still need clones. Which FactoryOwners was meant to avoid.
_________________
The Jaunt wrote:

It's eternity in there...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mevitar
Cyborg Firebomber


Joined: 31 Dec 2010

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2015 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wasn't thinking about FactoryOwners.

Customizable prerequisite groups
GroupAs

Create clone structures. Add GroupAs to each. Create new prerequisite group with them listed. Add them as prerequisites.
Players won't know there's any difference.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [16 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Ares (Unofficial Forum)
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1240s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0058s) ][ Debug on ]