:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Thu Nov 14, 2019 4:22 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Tutorials Vault
Using a batch file to copy INIs from working directories.
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [2 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Darkstorm
Commander


Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Location: Unknown

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:22 am    Post subject:  Using a batch file to copy INIs from working directories.
Subject description: Plus some organized rules for use with Ares.
Reply with quote

I'm not sure how others handle their mods, but I like to have a separate directory for all the assets and INIs outside the directory I run it from. This presents an annoyance in constantly copying files to the running directory. I'll leave a screenshot below how I split up my mod's files.

I realize with Ares you can just copy the RA2 folder straight up and work in there but it gets cluttered so I still prefer this method. If you don't use Ares, you can use this method to keep a spare copy of your mod when you want to switch it out.

I've written a "compile" and a "run" batch file for my mod. The latter only being needed for Ares. I haven't written a clean file yet, but may in the future.

Compile:
Code:

copy "INI Misc\*" "C:\Westwood\RA2"
copy "INI Rules\*" "C:\Westwood\RA2"
copy "Mod Files\*" "C:\Westwood\RA2"
pause


Run (Ares):
Code:

CD "C:\Westwood\RA2"
Syringe "gamemd.exe" %* -CD -NOLOGO -LOG


P.S. This really isn't complicated enough to need a tutorial but I didn't think to do it until now so I figured I'd share it. I'll also leave the divided rules files I use. They won't work well with FinalAlert if you intend to do map making though.

EDIT: I feel kind of silly about this, but I realized that I could make a shortcut to my already created batch file in the main directory to run ares to begin with like I have on my desktop. So feel free to ignore the run bit. Oh and thanks to Apollo for the warning on that. I'm not experienced with batch commands at all which is why I created this thread to begin with.


screen1.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  22 KB
 Viewed:  1458 Time(s)

screen1.png



Rules.zip
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  Rules.zip
 Filesize:  151.67 KB
 Downloaded:  9 Time(s)



Key Words: #Tutorials #Modding #RedAlert2 #YurisRevenge #Ares 

_________________

Last edited by Darkstorm on Fri Jun 12, 2015 1:53 am; edited 1 time in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ApolloTD
Commander


Joined: 19 Nov 2003

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2015 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just don't do this with a move command kids (instead of copy), if the path is incorrect it rather creates a file (instead of directory) that it keeps overwriting and losing your files in process.

There are no safeguards in batches if given incorrect inputs.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [2 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Tutorials Vault
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1372s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0237s) ][ Debug on ]