:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Tue Sep 25, 2018 10:39 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Ares (Unofficial Forum)
Cloaking super weapon possible?
Moderators: Ares Support Team at PPM, Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [16 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
chr0nicz420
AA Infantry


Joined: 10 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 8:12 am    Post subject:  Cloaking super weapon possible? Reply with quote

So I read about this AttachEffect but I'm not exactly sure if this is possible so I'm trying to give it a shot. Heck, I don't really know how this AttachEffect works as I have average to below average knowledge when it comes to coding/modding. I use IronCurtain so AI will cloak its own units then engage.

The thing is, it didn't work. So, is it possible to make a cloaking super weapon?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ickus
General


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Location: @__@

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
AttachEffect
The AttachEffect system was designed as a spiritual
successor to NPatch‘s Upgrade logic,
but it was aimed to not be limited only to superweapons.
AttachEffect tags can be applied to both the Big Four (all TechnoTypes) and Warheads, unless stated otherwise.


http://ares-developers.github.io/Ares-docs/new/attacheffect.html ( keep the documentation handy !!)

alright short answer yes it can. long answer welp thats on you how you want it to work.
I am assuming you know the basic or foundation of modding, like how to mod weapons and units. I would suggest working with it on basic weapon to experiment with it, then adapting it to a superweapon once you are more familiar with ARES.
_________________
Delirium..

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chr0nicz420
AA Infantry


Joined: 10 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I'm always reading the documentation first before trying some sort of experiments.

Anyway, here's my attempt on Cloaking super weapon:

Code:

[CloakingSpecial]
UIName=Name:Iron
Name=Cloaking
IsPowered=true
RechargeVoice=00-I156
ChargingVoice=
ImpatientVoice=
SuspendVoice=
RechargeTime=.1
Type=IronCurtain
Action=IronCurtain
SidebarImage=IRCRICON
ShowTimer=yes
DisableableFromShell=yes ; gs this determines which superweapons are turned off by the checkbox
Range=1.4
LineMultiplier=3
SW.Range=3
SW.Animation=CLOAKRING
SW.AnimationHeight=1
SW.AffectsHouse=team
SW.RequiresTarget=infantry,units
Protect.Duration=0
AttachEffect.Duration=-1
AttachEffect.SpeedMultiplier=2
AttachEffect.Cloakable=yes


One is it kills infantry and the other is it's not making the units cloaked.

Maybe it's a mistake to make a super weapon based on Iron Curtain? But if I use something else, it might not work effectively well on AI. Or am I doing it wrong on AttachEffect?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TAK02
Commander


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Type and Action need to change. It's what kills off the poor troops. Why would you go Order 66 on 'em?
_________________
One and only developer of C&C S. True Supremacy.
Youtube: C&C Supremacy Mod | Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue
I once ninja'd MigEater #Tongue
Last edited by TAK02 on Sun Jun 04, 2017 10:40 am; edited 1 time in total

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
Graion Dilach
Defense Minister


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Location: Iszkaszentgyörgy, Hungary

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should create a GenericWarhead SW with all AttachEffect properties applied through it's warhead.

Using IronCurtain for this is nonsense.
_________________



AS Discord server: https://discord.gg/7aM7Hm2

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID
chr0nicz420
AA Infantry


Joined: 10 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 10:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay but how about AI's actions?

Ideally I want to make it similar to AI Iron Curtain where they'll form units near enemy base, using the Cloaking super weapon, then proceed the attack.

That's why I used the Iron Curtain as a base.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chr0nicz420
AA Infantry


Joined: 10 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I made it work using GenericWarhead as super weapon type thanks to Graion.

Code:

[CloakingSpecial]
UIName=Name:Iron
Name=Cloaking
IsPowered=true
RechargeVoice=00-I156
ChargingVoice=
ImpatientVoice=
SuspendVoice=
RechargeTime=.1
Type=GenericWarhead
Action=IronCurtain
SidebarImage=IRCRICON
ShowTimer=yes
DisableableFromShell=yes ; gs this determines which superweapons are turned off by the checkbox
Range=1.4
LineMultiplier=3
SW.Range=3
SW.Damage=0
SW.Warhead=CloakWH
SW.Animation=CLOAKRING
SW.AnimationHeight=1
SW.RequiresTarget=land,water

[CloakWH]
CellSpread=3
PercentAtMax=1
Verses=100%,100%,100%,100%,100%,100%,00%,0%,0%,0%,0%
AnimList=CLOAKRING
Ripple.Radius=79
AffectsAllies=yes
AffectsEnemies=no
AttachEffect.Duration=-1
AttachEffect.SpeedMultiplier=2
AttachEffect.Cloakable=yes


Though I retained the super weapon action as Iron Curtain. This may be a stupid question but does that mean AI will use this super weapon similar on how AI uses Iron Curtain?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Starkku
Cyborg Commando


Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's tied to Type as far as I know, not Action. So no, I don't think it will.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Twitter Channel URL
chr0nicz420
AA Infantry


Joined: 10 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then how will I make AI to use this super weapon? It seems AI won't use this super weapon ideally.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Graion Dilach
Defense Minister


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Location: Iszkaszentgyörgy, Hungary

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd consider a halfly functioning variant of this (by using ally PsyDom targeting) better than something completely not working.
_________________



AS Discord server: https://discord.gg/7aM7Hm2

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID
chr0nicz420
AA Infantry


Joined: 10 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Like this?

Code:

[CloakingSpecial]
UIName=Name:Iron
Name=Cloaking
IsPowered=true
RechargeVoice=00-I156
ChargingVoice=
ImpatientVoice=
SuspendVoice=
RechargeTime=.1
Type=GenericWarhead
Action=IronCurtain
SidebarImage=IRCRICON
ShowTimer=yes
DisableableFromShell=yes ; gs this determines which superweapons are turned off by the checkbox
Range=1.4
LineMultiplier=3
SW.Range=3
SW.Damage=0
SW.Warhead=CloakWH
SW.Animation=CLOAKRING
SW.AnimationHeight=1
SW.RequiresTarget=land,water
SW.AITargeting=PsychicDominator
SW.AIRequiresTarget=units,infantry
SW.AIRequiresHouse=owner


But according to the info on PsychicDominator:
Quote:
Selects the valid target that has the most enemy units in Cell Spread range 3 nearby that can be permanently mind-controlled.


So will that be disregarded by SW.AIRequiresHouse?

Man, if only there's an Iron Curtain AI Targeting...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nlspeed
Disk Thrower


Joined: 26 Dec 2016

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chr0nicz420 wrote:
Man, if only there's an Iron Curtain AI Targeting...

But there isn't, as that is done through aimd.ini.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chr0nicz420
AA Infantry


Joined: 10 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nlspeed wrote:
chr0nicz420 wrote:
Man, if only there's an Iron Curtain AI Targeting...

But there isn't, as that is done through aimd.ini.


It only works with Action/Type=IronCurtain super weapon. Hence, only Iron Curtain.

What I mean is AI will use the super weapon similar on how and when they use their Iron Curtain.

Just like a Parabomb super weapon uses ParaDrop as its base super weapon yet its AI Targeting is Nuke(Or whatever preference does other people have) and not ParaDrop.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use SW.AITargeting=Base, the AI will then randomly fire it at units waiting in their base, which will then often be sent to attack soon after. I doesn't always work but it's the best method that I know of for making the AI use a super weapon like this on their own units.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
chr0nicz420
AA Infantry


Joined: 10 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm I see. I'll try to go with that. Thanks!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PePsiCola
Stealth Laser Trooper


Joined: 28 Dec 2010
Location: The United States

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mig Eater wrote:
Use SW.AITargeting=Base, the AI will then randomly fire it at units waiting in their base, which will then often be sent to attack soon after. I doesn't always work but it's the best method that I know of for making the AI use a super weapon like this on their own units.


Agreed here. I use SW.AITargeting=Base for all buff-type SWs, such as a cloaking field, a permanent armor buff, and a healing circle. I too recommend this for best results.
_________________
Tiberium Uprising (a few missions for TS): http://www.ppmsite.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=31029

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [16 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Ares (Unofficial Forum)
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1411s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0200s) ][ Debug on ]