:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Thu Aug 16, 2018 11:43 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Ares (Unofficial Forum)
Helicopters spawn at Airfield.
Moderators: Ares Support Team at PPM, Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
chr0nicz420
AA Infantry


Joined: 10 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 3:09 pm    Post subject:  Helicopters spawn at Airfield.
Subject description: Already using BuildAt=.
Reply with quote

I'm trying this but every attempt, I still fail to make this one work. As the description says, I already put the BuildAt on my helicopter unit.

Code:
[SAMPLE]
UIName=Name:????
Name=????
Prerequisite=GAAIRC
Prerequisite.Lists=3
Prerequisite.List1=GAAIRC1
Prerequisite.List2=GAAIRC2
Prerequisite.List3=GAAIRC3
BuildAt=GAAIRC,GAAIRC1,GAAIRC2,GAAIRC3,NAAIRF,NAAIRF1,NAAIRF2,YAAIRB
Primary=
Strength=9999
Category=AirPower
JumpJet=yes
Landable=no
Armor=light
TechLevel=9
Sight=7
Speed=12
PitchSpeed=1.1
AirRate=1
BalloonHover=yes
JumpjetSpeed=30 ;params not defined use defaults (old globals way up top)
JumpjetClimb=10
JumpjetCrash=40 ; Climb, but down
JumpJetAccel=12
JumpJetTurnRate=6
JumpjetHeight=500
JumpjetWobbles=.01
JumpjetDeviation=1
JumpjetNoWobbles=yes
Owner=
RequiredHouses=
Cost=1500
Soylent=1500
Points=25
ROT=5
Crewed=no
ConsideredAircraft=yes
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
MaxDebris=3
VoiceSelect=Select
VoiceMove=Move
VoiceAttack=AttackCommand
VoiceCrashing=VoiceDie
CrashingSound=;BlackOpsDie
DieSound=
ImpactLandSound=GenAircraftCrash
;Locomotor={4A582746-9839-11d1-B709-00A024DDAFD1} ;flying
Locomotor={92612C46-F71F-11d1-AC9F-006008055BB5} ;jumpjet
MovementZone=Fly
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys
;AuxSound1=BlackOpsTakeOff   ;Taking off
;AuxSound2=BlackOpsLanding   ;Landing
ThreatPosed=0
SpecialThreatValue=1
VeteranAbilities=STRONGER,FIREPOWER,SIGHT,FASTER
EliteAbilities=SELF_HEAL,STRONGER,FIREPOWER,ROF
Size=15
SizeLimit=2
HoverAttack=yes
AllowedToStartInMultiplayer=no
Crashable=yes
SpeedType=Hover
MoveSound=BlackOpsMoveLoop
ElitePrimary=
DeathWeapon=Maverick
PreventAttackMove=yes
Trainable=yes
Bunkerable=no; Units default to yes, others default to no
IsSelectableCombatant=yes ; TR



I tried putting Factory.ExplicitOnly=yes on a certain Airfield but it doesn't work. That certain helicopter can still only build at War Factory. Not only that but aircraft as well can't be built even I put BuildAt on that certain aircraft but that's not the main problem.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EliteGoatBoy
Medic


Joined: 03 May 2016

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your helicopter spawns at the War Factory, then you've defined it as a VehicleType (UnitType), not an AircraftType. Only AircraftTypes (Harriers/Black Eagles, etc) can be built at airfields (buildings with Factory=AircraftType).
Even with BuiltAt, you're assigning your helicopter to the wrong FactoryType since I assume these airfield clones have Factory=AircraftType.

Your possible solutions are as follows:

1) Create a War Factory clone that looks like a helipad or an airfield and give it the Factory.ExplicitOnly=yes. Being a War Factory clone it will have a Factory=UnitType. And having Factory.ExplicitOnly=yes means that only units mentioning this building will be produced there.
Modify your helicopter unit's BuiltAt to feature this building (or buildings, considering you're making many clones).
This is a good solution if you intend on keeping that helicopter a UnitType (VehicleType)

2) Less pleasant solution: If you wish your helicopter to spawn at airfields (buildings with Factory=AircraftType) then you have to rework your unit into an AircraftType. You'll have to do all necessary modifications to ensure it functions correctly, depending on how you want it to act (like Harriers/Black Eagles or otherwise).

I hope this somewhat provides a solution to your problem.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chr0nicz420
AA Infantry


Joined: 10 Feb 2016

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see so the most probable is to rework the unit. Thanks!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BTW BuildAt= doesn't work correctly with airfields because it doesn't take the PadAircraft logic into account. Which means you can build more aircraft then then you have space for which messes up the build queue order.
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
cxtian39
Energy Commando


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not possible. You can't build VehicleTypes from a Factory=AircraftType building.
_________________
Aircraft Factory Mod
Command & Conquer: Genetic Rhapsody

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account
AlexB
Commander


Joined: 31 May 2010
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BuildAt= does work correctly, as far as I know. It just isn't supported on aircraft, so using them together won't give the results the documentation promises for infantry or vehicles. That's not a bug.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It not a bug with BuildAt, it does exactly what it is meant to. It's the PadAircraft logic which messes things up because it's used globally & doesn't work with BuildAt's per-building system.  

For example I'm using BuildAt on a "Helipad" in D-day which builds carryall aircraft that aren't AirportBound & thus dont use the PadAircraft logic & it which works without any problems.

I'm curious as to how & why the PadAircraft system was implemented the way it was, I get the feeling it was done as a bit of a quick hack. It would have been better IMO if it was included as part of the Dock= tag. Back then they only did what was necessary to get the game working tho & not what would later be modder friendly #Tongue
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
TAK02
Commander


Joined: 28 Jun 2015
Location: It was Damascus.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mig Eater wrote:
Back then they only did what was necessary to get the game working tho & not what would later be modder friendly #Tongue

It's an anti-modder conspiracy ala RA3 and the-game-that-must-not-be-named #Tongue
_________________
One and only developer of C&C S. True Supremacy.
Youtube: C&C Supremacy Mod | Skype: TAK02 Supreme CnC Mods
m7 wrote:
I tend to release things I create so that assets are never lost to hard drive problems, accidental deletion, or me having to pretend to care about rippers taking things from my project when it is done. #Tongue
I once ninja'd MigEater #Tongue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID Skype Account
AlexB
Commander


Joined: 31 May 2010
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think WW did it the efficient way here. There's a counter per house that remembers the number of docks a house owns, and this can be checked quite quickly without any ambiguity. If this were per-dock-building, with different possible dockable aircraft, this would be more complex to calculate and solve the constraints.

For example, you could order one aircraft land on a different dock structure, by which some build options might get deactivated and some others could become available. That would be irritating, and even if this would be set up to define two non-overlapping groups of docks and aircraft, this would still be inefficient to check all the time (because the constraints on all buildings need to be checked for the case there is overlap).

A simpler system would enforce the non-overlapped-ness of dock and aircraft (like having a AircraftDockIndex=n on structure and aircraft). Most likely WW just didn't have the need to add something like this. Essentially what they have coded is this system, with a fixed index of 0 for everything.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the info Smile So is there any possibility that we might see AircraftDockIndex= or something like it added to Ares in the future?

I had plans for naval airfields with seaplanes in D-day, even made the gfx for the dock & several unit vxls before I found this issue & had to scrap the whole idea. I would also love to expand on the aforementioned Helipads too...


PS: It seams I have lead this thread off topic, maybe it should be split?
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Modding Central » Red Alert 2 Editing Forum » Ares (Unofficial Forum)
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.1372s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0295s) ][ Debug on ]