:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Do you want to advertise at Project Perfect Mod. Find out how to do it HERE.

The time now is Mon Jun 24, 2019 5:48 pm
All times are UTC + 0
 Forum index » Featured Tools » Community Tools
OS VXL Viewer suggestion...
Moderators: Community Tools Developpers
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [20 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
NW4ever
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 8:25 pm    Post subject:  OS VXL Viewer suggestion... Reply with quote

I have a suggestion... You could spice up the barrel and turret placement thingys and make some sort of HVA Edit. You can view much better the VXLs united... Wink
_________________
I said: "I'll be back". And here I am #Tongue

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Account Yahoo Messenger Account
stucuk
Geek


Joined: 27 Aug 2002

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Without 100% perfect blade, Barrel and Turrets alignment there is no point in attempting a HVA Editor.
_________________
Free Map Editor - Game Requirements - Stucuk.Net

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The DvD
TiberiumWeb.com Webmaster


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it's not already supported, i'd love to have the ability to place multiple units in a scene...so you can make battles etc.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stucuk won't do that. You were not the first person to ask it. According to him, the current engine doesnt support it... and he was pissed off when I added a multiples document engine to the SHP Builder that used pointers (which he hates). That probably helped to stabilish his position against multiples voxels on OS:VV...
_________________


Mods, Mods Support, Public Researchs, Map Archives, Tutorials, A Friendly Community and much more. Check it out now!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
stucuk
Geek


Joined: 27 Aug 2002

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lol. I don't h8 multipul document engines. I h8ed how u made a major change without me. You ignored every suggestion i made, etc. Anyway.

the reason a multipul VXL thing is imposible is because the Frame rate would be way too low, hence why it can only view one voxel on a scene. VXL's wern't ment to be drawn like 3d objects. (way im drawing them is slow)
_________________
Free Map Editor - Game Requirements - Stucuk.Net

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I still think you can make a caching system that could reduce the voxels in a smaller group of cubes reducing the ammount of polys to render...
_________________


Mods, Mods Support, Public Researchs, Map Archives, Tutorials, A Friendly Community and much more. Check it out now!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
The DvD
TiberiumWeb.com Webmaster


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If frame rate is the only reason.. i mean i'm just gonna take static screenshots. framerate is irrelevant. and besides, it should run ok on my pc.

I've done some testing and i found out that an AMD K8 @ 2GHz will do this:

voxels fps
1000: 160
2000: 75
4000: 35

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
Banshee
Supreme Banshee


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But your computer speed is a way above the avarage. In today standards, the avarage is about 850mhz to 1ghz... of course it varies a lot between countries... I expect that the avarage of my country is above it, although there are a lot of old computer here.
_________________


Mods, Mods Support, Public Researchs, Map Archives, Tutorials, A Friendly Community and much more. Check it out now!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
stucuk
Geek


Joined: 27 Aug 2002

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

With 6584 my dads pc gets about 60 fps, but tats hardly any voxels. Try the titan (BOOBS.VXL) which can be found on this site.

Different voxels different fps, one voxel that has 6000 approx only renders at 12 fps unlike another at 6584 which renders at 60. Depending on how meny faces are rendered the fps changes. I proberly should add a face count. Note: with voxels that have HVA's no faces are not drawn (faces that wouldn't be seen are removed from voxels without hva's, ones with hva's can't be removed since the animation may make them visible in a frame.)
_________________
Free Map Editor - Game Requirements - Stucuk.Net

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The DvD
TiberiumWeb.com Webmaster


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well i made a simple 10x10x10 cube for these tests... i'm surprised your dad's pc gets such a high score, considering i have a very fast processor..

BOOBS runs at 7 fps here but after i removed redundant voxels it was 12 fps.

So please, test these voxels on your dad's pc (other people are welcome to test as well). I'm quite interesting in the results.


test4000.vxl
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  test4000.vxl
 Filesize:  13.01 KB
 Downloaded:  316 Time(s)


test2000.vxl
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  test2000.vxl
 Filesize:  6.96 KB
 Downloaded:  258 Time(s)


test1000.vxl
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  test1000.vxl
 Filesize:  4.03 KB
 Downloaded:  254 Time(s)


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
stucuk
Geek


Joined: 27 Aug 2002

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For a ts voxel with animation say MK II, a person can get 30 fps. Now if u had a scene of say 5 units thats 6fps.....

Its too low to be worth while.

Note: my dads pc is 1.? (above 1.6)Ghz, 256mb, Geforce FX 5200. Its a decent spec.

Note2: Processor will have little impact on the FPS. The speed loss is when the geometry is passed to the graphics card, if you take out that process u will get 60fps. So it will be more than speed of ur graphics card than anything else.
_________________
Free Map Editor - Game Requirements - Stucuk.Net

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The DvD
TiberiumWeb.com Webmaster


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A, i thought it relied solely on the processor.. i still don't get why a too low fps is a problem though. We're talking about making screenshots here.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
GeckoYamori
Cyborg Artillery


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get a very terrible framerate with my Radeon 9800 Pro, most likely because of its bad OpenGL support. Maybe you could try adding Direct3D support?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The DvD
TiberiumWeb.com Webmaster


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ati's OpenGL isn't thát bad.. I mean you can run Doom 3 on it Wink

This is just.. well.. bad coding (compared to real games, ofcourse)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
GeckoYamori
Cyborg Artillery


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Last time I checked, my Doom 3 ran in Direct3D.

My average FPS using any of these voxel programs is 4-6, if it's a big voxel I get 1. My Geforce4 MX (Which is infinately worse than a Radeon 9800) handled it better than that.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stucuk
Geek


Joined: 27 Aug 2002

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Direct X Sucks. OpenGL owns. So Does NVidia. All the ID Games (Quake 3 series + Doom 3) Use Direct X , if they used OpenGL the texture cordinates would be the opposite way round (Direct x uses top left for 0,0 and OpenGL uses bottom left for 0,0)

Framerate is important because you need to place the vxl's.

I don't know Direct X, and if i did id haev to rewrite a large chunk of the program, proberly have to rewrite it. Get a Nvidia, they rule.(To my knowlage Nvidia has no problems with Direct X and doesn't suffer any OpenGL Problems like ATI)

Note: "Real Games" use models that were designed to be 3d, VXL's are designed to be rendered in 2d, not made into cubes so they can be seen in a 3d way. I can load Doom3 Models and get 60 FPS (caps at 60, with no Bumpmapping cos i can't do bumpmapping yet). Check out This and This, being a realgame means nothing. Anyone can do things real companys can.
_________________
Free Map Editor - Game Requirements - Stucuk.Net

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
GeckoYamori
Cyborg Artillery


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just got this card, and it cost me some money, so I'm not too keen on the idea of getting a brand new nVidia card just for voxeling purposes... If rewriting most of the program is required just for DirectX support, I guess I'll leave voxel editing to someone else.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The DvD
TiberiumWeb.com Webmaster


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure why you think nVidia is so much better than AtI, they both have very good cards (although the GF 5xxx cards sucked bigtime)

I like nVidia because they make good chipsets for AMD with proper and stable drivers.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Account
stucuk
Geek


Joined: 27 Aug 2002

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ATI cards can have problems with OpenGL, "artefacts" appearing in games, etc. Nvidia seem more robust, plus there a OpenGL card, OpenGL rulz. Mainly because its an open graphics libary, not a Micro$oft product.
_________________
Free Map Editor - Game Requirements - Stucuk.Net

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CJ
Guest




PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2005 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bumpity bump #Tongue

I'd like to bring this back on topic and make a request about turret placement. Either I'm being a bit thick and haven't worked out how to do it, but that'd still be a great addition.

Cheers,

~CJ

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [20 Posts] View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Featured Tools » Community Tools
Jump to:  
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
Quick Reply
Username:


If you are visually impaired or cannot otherwise answer the challenges below please contact the Administrator for help.


Write only one of the following words: Brotherhood, unity, peace! 

 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

Wildcard SSL Certificates
[ Time: 0.2300s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0958s) ][ Debug on ]