Project Perfect Mod Forums
:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::


The time now is Mon Apr 22, 2024 3:01 pm
All times are UTC + 0
CNCNet doesn't read spawner.xdp
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
nlspeed
Grenadier


Joined: 26 Dec 2016

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2023 12:23 pm    Post subject:  CNCNet doesn't read spawner.xdp Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hola peoples,

I am not >really< modding Yuri's Revenge... But while I am, for this fraction of time, I tried to get CNCNet to work with my mod. I have CNCNet, I have Ares, I have Phobos, I see Phobos's in-game message, I see the power/miner icons I added through ra2md.ini and uimd.ini - but for some reason it completely ignores the spawner.xdp file I edited? i just keep these files - ra2md.ini, uimd.ini, artmd.ini, et cetera, including spawner.xdp - in the root RA2 folder. But CNCNet doesn't parse my changes. Any idea what I am overlooking?

Thank you in advance!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
General


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2023 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Overmind
Rocket Infantry


Joined: 05 May 2022

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2023 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

When I tested it didn't work. At most I could get some new structures in but most of the mod stuff was not read by CnC net. There is no updated clear guide anywhere on how to make it work. I will try putting up one if I manage to get things going.

_________________
Red Alert 2 Yuri's Revenge Apocalypse mod:

https://www.moddb.com/mods/apocalypse1

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nlspeed
Grenadier


Joined: 26 Dec 2016

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2023 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

E1 Elite wrote:
Try using Starkku's mod base compilation.
Check this thread till the end - https://ppmforums.com/topic-47870/cncnet-my-mod-ares/

Unfortunately, YRLauncher.exe doesn't do anything, and now CnCNetYRLauncher.exe also doesn't do anything, so with this I can't even get in-game... Any idea how to fix that, perhaps?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
General


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2023 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nlspeed
Grenadier


Joined: 26 Dec 2016

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2023 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

E1 Elite wrote:
Latest one has .Net 7 requirements. If you have problems with .Net 7 release, you can browse older commits and use it.
Like - https://github.com/Starkku/cncnet-client-mod-base/tree/fc312bda88282db84c869e1bac91dd3dc3872902

Setup (ClientFiles has the needed files):
1. Copy RA2, YR files.
2. Copy Ares files (and Phobos if using).
3. Follow Documentation\QuickStartGuide.md and update the 2 INI files mentioned, in Resources folder.

It works.

I did literally that. I do get the popup of 'the component '.NET Desktop Runtime' version 7 for platform X86 is missing', which I then download and install via the provided link (and restart my laptop to be sure). After that, YRLauncher.exe (and CnCNetYRLauncher.exe) is unresponsive and seemingly does nothing anymore.

Starkku's CNCNet version simply doesn't work for me. The CNCNet I can download from the official website does work, but then, of course, I don't have Starkku's modifications.

Installing the official CNCNet and then copying Starkku's version over it doesn't work, nor does doing it the other way around. By manually copying Starkku's version file by file over the default CNCNet installation, I can see that the error is somewhere in either /Binaries or /Compatibility; the moment I overwrite CNCNet's folders with Starkku's, YRLauncher.exe becomes unresponsive. I really can't be bothered to do this process for a hundred files to narrow down which one is wrong...

Why would Starkku's version not work for me? Would it be useful if you uploaded your /Binaries and /Compatibility folders?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
General


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2023 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Don't mix CnCNet client with Starkku's compilation. Use the older repository link I mentioned if there are problems. There is no need to change cncnet5.dll file or Binaries or Compatibility folders. I have not changed any files from that link.

Once configured, if directx problem with YRLauncher.exe, client can also be launched by Resources\clientxna.exe or clientogl.exe, performance may not be the same.

If you followed the steps in my last post, it is simple and takes just 5 minutes.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nlspeed
Grenadier


Joined: 26 Dec 2016

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2023 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Fair enough. For some reason, the proper way of doing this still didn't work, but the combination of CNCNet and Starkku's version now did work, so I'll leave it at that... Very weird, though, I agree that this feels sketchy and unsafe, so to say.

Two things, however, do not work; one is that the flags in the skirmish menu of CNCNet's client disappeared:

They do work fine on the loading screen, and basically anywhere outside of CNCNet's client. The only lead I can find is that the original flags are saved in \RA2\Resources\ with CNCNet's own naming convention (e.g. 'great britainicon.png'), but I do not see these files referred to anywhere else, and replacing them with my own flags doesn't work (I tried both renaming my own flags to the CNCNet names, as well as making .png versions of my flags with their actual names according to rulesmd.ini).

Two is that custom colours do not work in CNCNet's client, but again do work in-game. In rulesmd.ini:

In uimd.ini:

And in GameOptions.ini:

Leads to:

If I don't touch GameOptions.ini, then there is no error, in-game the colours work fine, but the colours do not show up in CNCNet's client.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
General


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2023 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Icon filename in Resources folder is <yourcountryname>icon.png. In GameOptions.ini Sides=, if you have Prism General then name your PNG as "prism generalicon.png".

The 4th parameter in MPColors in GameOptions.ini is the index used by the game internally. I don't know it for YR, you may check with mods in MODDB like Red Resurrection or others that use the client.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nlspeed
Grenadier


Joined: 26 Dec 2016

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2023 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Wow, that's a super useful reply, both the flags and the colours now work - I had never noticed the fourth number even being there... Thank you!

Weird that CNCNet uses a 70% downsized flag, but I will ignore that (besides, the .png flags from the base game are inconsistently downsized in that the Allied/Soviet symbol looks different on every flag).

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
 
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1487s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0080s) ][ Debug on ]