Project Perfect Mod Forums
:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::


The time now is Sun Apr 14, 2024 12:40 am
All times are UTC + 0
Can Ares Fix This ?
Moderators: Ares Support Team at PPM, Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
adamstrange
Tiberian Fiend


Joined: 07 Mar 2013

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2023 9:18 pm    Post subject:  Can Ares Fix This ? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

[1]
A few weeks ago I was at the MODENC looking at some tutorials but while I was browsing around, I found an article that just made me upset, like ''WHY THE HELL DID YOU GUYS NOT FIX THIS'' kind of upset.Mad

The issue is that the AI for no apparent reason will start to destroy buildings for nothing. There can be bunkers for it to garrison as well as buildings, and this can also happen on a wide open map that has plenty of room and only a few buildings, and many times it will still destroy them.

When I asked about this in the forums, I was told that the AI needs room, but I found out that's not the reason.

The reason is that the devs knew that the AI was bugged and rather than fix it, they left it as is and I think the article may have suggested that they were too lazy to fix it.

Can in an update of Ares fix this so that at least troops garrison the buildings instead of destroying them ?

[2]
Can there also be an update where Ares will allow maps bigger than 200x200 like at least 400x400 ?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
Defense Minister


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2023 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

It depends on the mission they get. You'll notice when you destroy a garrisoned building, sometimes one or two of the ejected infantry will start attacking the building, even your own infantry. The code to garrison is linked to both attacking and area guard missions, but sometimes there's a missing state update, or it's randomized, and they get into some retaliate mission.

You'll also notice that sometimes when player buildings are destroyed, the infantry survivors will garrison a nearby building. I think this again is deliberate, but randomized, and has something to do with their distance.

I'm not sure these can be called "bugs" because they add variety to the behaviour.

_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adamstrange
Tiberian Fiend


Joined: 07 Mar 2013

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2023 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Do you know what this code is G-E and at least in the editor, is there a trigger or script that would tell the enemy AI to garrison buildings instead of destroying them ?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G-E
Defense Minister


Joined: 09 Feb 2015

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2023 1:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Well in vanilla RA2, any garrisonable troops set to Area Guard (11,11) have a chance of garrisoning nearby buildings. In YR they explicitly added a garrison script action 64,0 because it was no longer the exclusive realm of the base infantry, and you had the CanOccupyFire setting to broaden it.

That said, when you have survivors of a building, or troops are ejected due to damage state, they don't have any code attached, just a state. A state which isn't entirely consistent between all the involved infantry.  In the case of trying to destroy the building, I believe it is because the infantry wants to return to the spot it was moved to, like it remembers the previous move order, but the building is now in the way, preventing it, similar to how tanks will sometimes attack trees or fences to move to their destination.

So it's not something you can modify, it is what it is. You have to either recruit them into another team for the AI, or order them around yourself.

_________________
http://www.moddb.com/mods/scorched-earth-ra2-mod-with-smart-ai

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
McPwny
Cyborg Artillery


Joined: 29 Jan 2018

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2023 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

im pretty sure that the AI is hardcoded to destroy civilian garrisonable buildings nearby its base. whether they
deliberately destroy them, or whether they should garrison but dont due to script mismatch, i dont know.
you can, however give units a script to garrison buildings in yr. if i recall, you have to used a patched editor
to write the script as some of the YR specific script actions were left out of vanilla fa2

_________________
visit my moddb profile for .shp downloads and stuff

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adamstrange
Tiberian Fiend


Joined: 07 Mar 2013

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2023 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thank You G-E

McPwny I'm using FA2SP, is this the patched editor and if it is, how can I issue a global command for all AI troops to garrison ?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
McPwny
Cyborg Artillery


Joined: 29 Jan 2018

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2023 5:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

there is only a script action for it so only AI teams that you script to
garrison will garrison buildings

_________________
visit my moddb profile for .shp downloads and stuff

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
General


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2023 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

There are no signs of Ares being developed anymore.

1. Somehow before choosing an enemy, if the AI chooses to attack civil buildings, it can't be helped.

2. Patched FA2 is available here - https://ppmforums.com/topic-47342/final-alert-2-yr-v102-patches/
It allows to create maps like 256x256 or 400x112. 400x400 is too big for the game to handle, so not supported.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
 
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.1840s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0105s) ][ Debug on ]