Project Perfect Mod Forums
:: Home :: Get Hosted :: PPM FAQ :: Forum FAQ :: Privacy Policy :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::


The time now is Sun Jul 21, 2024 8:50 pm
All times are UTC + 0
Remappable Walls Problem
Moderators: Global Moderators, Red Alert 2 Moderators
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [16 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Ousagi
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 02 Nov 2022

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2023 7:36 am    Post subject:  Remappable Walls Problem Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread




artmd.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  32.79 KB
 Viewed:  2008 Time(s)

artmd.png



0x1a.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  389.79 KB
 Viewed:  2008 Time(s)

0x1a.png



No Remap.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  726.05 KB
 Viewed:  2008 Time(s)

No Remap.png



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2023 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You need to use Ares for remappable walls to work.

I cant remember exactly what causes the 0x1a bug, I have a vague memory of it being the compression type of the shp file but probably wrong...

Why do you have NAWALL & NGWALL? If you use NewTheater=yes on one of them they become the same building.

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Ousagi
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 02 Nov 2022

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2023 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Mig Eater wrote:
You need to use Ares for remappable walls to work.

I have both Ares and Phobos.

Mig Eater wrote:
I cant remember exactly what causes the 0x1a bug, I have a vague memory of it being the compression type of the shp file but probably wrong...

Is this a problem with the file I downloaded?

Mig Eater wrote:
Why do you have NAWALL & NGWALL? If you use NewTheater=yes on one of them they become the same building.

I see... I removed them but the problem is still there. It work with skirmish, but I need them to work with Final Alert 2.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
General


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2023 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

There is a known problem with FA2 with SHP having 0 in radar color.

Solution: Use latest SHP Builder and open those wall SHP files and save once. That will add the radar colors.

Also in arts, you don't need sections for gg or ng, just ga and na is enough.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2023 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
I have both Ares and Phobos.


Are you using any other Ares and Phobos features? To make sure Ares/Phobos have loaded correctly.

If you are, you should contact the Phobos developers & report this issue as they might have broke something in Ares.

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Ousagi
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 02 Nov 2022

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2023 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
Solution: Use latest SHP Builder and open those wall SHP files and save once. That will add the radar colors.

Uhh... It fixed the 0x1a, but still not remapped.

I used SHP Builder 3.38 Beta 26. Is that correct?

Quote:
Are you using any other Ares and Phobos features? To make sure Ares/Phobos have loaded correctly.


I'm using the stable version of Phobos and Ares 3.0p1. What other features exactly? I just downloaded the files I didn't try to add any other files anywhere

I just tested removing Phobos.dll and Phobos.pdb and still not working. The walls are still not remapped but again they still work in skirmish.



No 0x1a.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  394.44 KB
 Viewed:  1946 Time(s)

No 0x1a.png



Still same.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  612.44 KB
 Viewed:  1946 Time(s)

Still same.png



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E1 Elite
General


Joined: 28 May 2013

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2023 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2023 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Right the walls are pre-placed on the map so they probably have the default civilian owner. Just to check tho, If you build walls in a normal skirmish game are they remapped?

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
Ousagi
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 02 Nov 2022

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2023 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Reinstalled Final Alert 2. Now it uses the players color for remapping.

Also, yes it works with skirmish. I think I already said this a couple of times in the replies.

In your guy's Final Alert 2, can you remap walls? Or is this problem the same.



Colored wall.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  783.99 KB
 Viewed:  1912 Time(s)

Colored wall.png



Nothing change.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  1.17 MB
 Viewed:  1912 Time(s)

Nothing change.png



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
McPwny
Cyborg Artillery


Joined: 29 Jan 2018

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2023 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i recall that walls are handled differently between campaign and skirmish in that skirmish ones would always default to being civilian upon map loading but campaign
ones would respect their ownership. maby the fact that they are loaded differently is causing some kind of issue.

im curious to know if they dont work only when pre-placed in campaign, or if they also dont work when built or spawned in via action 125

_________________
visit my moddb profile for .shp downloads and stuff

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ousagi
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 02 Nov 2022

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2023 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

They work when built and spawned just not pre-placed. Which is interesting since pre-placed buildings also respects ownership its just the walls that are behaving differently. Maybe there's a code needed somewhere for them to work properly.



Build At....png
 Description:
 Filesize:  415.3 KB
 Viewed:  1835 Time(s)

Build At....png



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
McPwny
Cyborg Artillery


Joined: 29 Jan 2018

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2023 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

strange. i guess spawning the walls via waypoint could be a solution, though not as ideal as having them work properly in the first place.

_________________
visit my moddb profile for .shp downloads and stuff

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ousagi
Cyborg Soldier


Joined: 02 Nov 2022

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2023 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Comparing to Mental Omega, I found in the second mission of Act 1 where a wall is still gray. Then I tried making a mission map to see if I could make the walls have owners but it just automatically gave ownership to the player.

Now I understand that a building is required to be near the walls to own it. I guess I need guard towers now. But I'm confused about the reach. How far does a building need to be until it can't own the wall? I thought I could only reach 7 cells but if you check the attachments, the other side is also owned by the Soviets.



7 cells.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  383.26 KB
 Viewed:  1793 Time(s)

7 cells.png



Confusing reach.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  675.87 KB
 Viewed:  1793 Time(s)

Confusing reach.png



Other buildings near.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  451.72 KB
 Viewed:  1793 Time(s)

Other buildings near.png



I guess I need guard towers.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  1.29 MB
 Viewed:  1793 Time(s)

I guess I need guard towers.png



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
McPwny
Cyborg Artillery


Joined: 29 Jan 2018

PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2023 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

mmm yes another obscure red alert 2 bug i didnt know to add to my encyclopedic knowledge of obscure red alert 2 bugs.

_________________
visit my moddb profile for .shp downloads and stuff

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mig Eater
Defense Minister


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Location: Eindhoven

PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2023 4:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Glad to see you've figured it out Smile

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ModDB Profile ID YouTube User URL Facebook Profile URL Twitter Channel URL
MRMIdAS
Energy Commando


Joined: 17 Jul 2008

PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2023 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Doesn't the game calculate Radiation spread weirdly too? might be an issue with how it calculates distance.

Also, is it related to Sight=? as NALASR has a sight of 7, so it might be related to it claiming everything it can "see"

_________________
MIdAS - Turning wages into beer since 2002

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 [16 Posts] Mark the topic unread ::  View previous topic :: View next topic
 
Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on DiggShare on RedditShare on PInterestShare on Del.icio.usShare on Stumble Upon
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group

[ Time: 0.2360s ][ Queries: 25 (0.0197s) ][ Debug on ]